Polk County Speeding Ticket for Driving Thirty Miles or More Above the Speed Limit
If you received a Polk County speeding ticket for traveling thirty miles or more over the posted speed limit, it is important to understand that there are some differences when compared to speeding tickets at lower speeds. If you were driving fifty miles or more over the posted speed limit, you will face a minimum fine of $1,000. If you were driving thirty miles or more—but less than forty-nine—your fine could range from $276 to $500. The actual amount will be left to the discretion of the judge in your case, who could up your fine depending on input from the ticketing officer, your prior driving history, and the facts surrounding this particular ticket.
Points Added to Your Driving Record and a Mandatory Court Appearance
In 2013, there were 628 Polk County tickets issued to those driving thirty miles or more over the posted speed limit. That number decreased in 2014 to 520, then shot up to 727 in 2015. Unfortunately, a stiff fine is not all you will face if you are found guilty of driving thirty miles or more over the posted speed limit. You must appear in court—no dropping a check in the mail—for speeds over thirty miles per hour over the speed limit. You can have an attorney appear on your behalf, which could be particularly beneficial if you happen to live out of state. A judge is more likely to look favorably upon your speeding offense if you arrive in court with an attorney as well.
When you have an attorney to argue your case, the judge knows you are taking the matter very seriously, and is much more likely to hand down a more favorable decision. You must also be concerned with the points which will be added to your driving record if you are found guilty of the offense of driving thirty miles or more over the posted speed limit. In the state of Florida, if you accrue twelve points on your driving record within twelve months, your license could be suspended for one month. Eighteen points within eighteen months could result in a three-month license suspension, and twenty-four points within thirty-six months could result in a license suspension for one year.
If you receive a guilty verdict for driving thirty miles or more over the posted speed limit, you will receive four points on your driving record, or six if an accident occurred. The judge can also suspend your license for a specified period of time for a speeding ticket of more than thirty miles per hour over the posted speed limit, even if you have not reached the necessary number of points to trigger a license suspension. The ticket you received would have been issued under Florida statutes 316.183, 316.187 or 316.189 which detail safe driving conditions, fines, etc.
Types of Speed Measurement Devices Used in the State of Florida
In the state of Florida, your speed may have been measured by pace clock, radar or laser, or much less commonly, VASCAR or aircraft speed detection. Your attorney will be well-acquainted with all the types of speed detection as well as their potential flaws, and can argue accordingly in front of the judge. As an example, pacing requires the police officer to catch up to the suspected speeder, then maintain a steady distance behind the vehicle for at least 2/10ths of a mile, which is very difficult to do, particularly in heavy traffic.
Radar has a wider beam, and may have targeted a larger vehicle rather than yours. Wind, rain and stormy weather can result in false signals in a radar detector, and in one infamous radar trial, a hand-held radar gun clocked a windblown tree at 70 mph. Although laser tends to be more precise, if a handheld unit is used, it must be held extremely steady in order to obtain an accurate reading. Further, radar and laser devices must be regularly calibrated and maintained, and the officer using the devices must be properly trained and certified. Any deviation from any of these requirements can result in challenges to your speeding ticket by your attorney.
Other Issues Associated with Your Speeding Ticket
You could potentially lose your motorcycle endorsement if you are found guilty of driving thirty miles or more over the posted speed limit, and you are not allowed to go to traffic school in lieu of having points placed on your driving record—although you may be ordered to attend traffic school by the judge. If you received your speeding ticket in a school zone or a construction zone, your fines will be doubled.
How an Attorney from The Law Place Can Help
If you received a speeding ticket for traveling thirty miles or more over the posted speed limit, appearing in court before the judge on your own is not a good idea. Having an attorney from The Law Place by your side is a much better option, giving you a greater chance of a favorable outcome for your speeding ticket. While judges are unlikely to listen to an excuse from a citizen, they are much more likely to listen to an explanation from your attorney. We have a thorough understanding of the Florida laws and rules which apply to your speeding ticket, and can question the police officer to ensure all procedures were properly followed. Don’t leave something this important to chance—call The Law Place today.