Pasco County Speeding Ticket for Driving Thirty Miles or More Above the Speed Limit
If you have received a speeding ticket in Pasco County for driving thirty miles or more over the posted speed limit, you may wonder about your options. The first thing you should know is that for speeding tickets of thirty miles or more over the posted speed limit, a court appearance is mandatory. You can, however, have a Florida traffic ticket attorney appear in court on your behalf. This can be particularly helpful when you are an out-of-state driver who does not want to spend the time and money to travel back to Florida and appear before a judge.
Statutes Governing Florida Speeding Tickets
The Florida statutes you may have violated when you received your ticket are 316.187, 316.189 and/or 316.183. Violations of Florida statute 316.183 are non-criminal infractions, punishable as provided for under chapter 318. No matter what the posted speed limit is under statute 316.183, it is unlawful to drive your vehicle in the state of Florida at speeds which are higher than those a reasonable person would drive, given the same circumstances. Speed must be controlled in order to avoid collisions with other persons, vehicles or objects, and those who travel on the roadways of Florida are required to use due care.
Counties and municipalities can set their own maximum speed limits, so long as a thorough investigation was engaged in and the investigation found such limits to be reasonable. School buses cannot exceed the posted speed limits under any circumstances, and drivers are required to reduce their speed in an appropriate manner during bad weather, when going through an intersection or across a railroad crossing, or when traveling on a narrow or winding road. In short, any time a potential hazard exists which could expose other drivers, pedestrians, motorcyclists or bicyclists to harm, a Florida driver must reduce his or her speed. Finally, no driver should exceed the posted speed limit in a school zone or construction zone.
Issues to Be Aware of Regarding Pasco County Speeding Tickets
In 2013, there were 242 tickets issued to those driving more than thirty miles over the posted speed limit. In 2014, that number increased to 303, and increased again in 2015 to 313. Other than a mandatory court appearance, you may want to know that your fine for this offense could be as high as $500. Your fine is determined by the judge and can vary by as much as a couple hundred dollars. The judge will make this determination based on your past driving history, on the circumstances of your ticket and by what the ticketing police officer has to say (If you were rude to the officer, your fine could increase accordingly). If you were driving fifty or more miles over the posted speed limit, the minimum fine you will pay is $1,000, so be aware that the judge takes this level of speeding very seriously.
Your next worry will be the points which will be added to your driving record in the event you are found guilty of speeding thirty miles or more above the posted speed limit. You will receive four points, unless there was an accident, in which case you will receive six points. The judge has the discretion to suspend your driver’s license, based on this ticket alone. Normally, you must have accrued twelve points within a twelve-month period, eighteen points within an eighteen-month period, or twenty-four points within a thirty-six-month period to trigger a suspension (one month, three months and one year, respectively).
The points you accrue on your driving record have other repercussions. Your insurance company will raise your insurance rates any time points are added to your driving record, and, in some instances, will drop your coverage altogether. Without auto insurance, you are not allowed to drive, even for work. Potential employers are allowed to access your driving history, and could deny you a job you are otherwise well-qualified for because of an adverse driving history. If you have a CDL, and your job is dependent on that license, you could find yourself out of a job after being judged guilty for speeding thirty miles or more over the posted speed limit.
How Your Speed Was Measured
In the state of Florida, your speed may have been measured via laser, radar or pace clock. Each of these methods have flaws, which can be capitalized on by your attorney. In the pacing method, the officer must catch the suspected speeder, then maintain a constant speed for at least 2/10ths of a mile. As you can imagine this is difficult to do, particularly in heavy traffic, and without being seen by the suspected speeder. Lasers and radars must be calibrated and maintained on a regular basis, and the officer using the speed detection devices must be thoroughly trained and certified to use the device.
How an Attorney from The Law Place Can Help You
Having an attorney from The Law Place by your side when you go to court, immediately tells the judge you are taking the matter very seriously. You will present a much more professional appearance with an attorney by your side, and your attorney may be able to have your ticket dismissed entirely, secure deferred adjudication on your behalf, or garner a decision which is more favorable than a guilty sentence and points on your driving record. Our attorneys will take your speeding ticket very seriously. We understand that points added to your driving record could potentially cause you to lose your license and that your insurance will increase, therefore will work hard for the best outcome possible in your case.
Pasco County Courthouse
38053 Live Oak Avenue #205
Dade City, Florida 33523