Monroe County Speeding Ticket for Driving Thirty Miles or More Above the Speed Limit
Understanding all aspects of your Florida speeding ticket for driving thirty miles or more above the speed limit is more important than you might think. Far too many people believe dropping a check in the mail after receiving a speeding ticket closes the door on the issue for good. Unfortunately, this is not the case. If you receive a speeding ticket for any speed under thirty miles over the speed limit, you are allowed to pay the ticket via mail, however it might not be the best choice. If, however, you receive a ticket for going thirty miles or more over the posted speed limit in the state of Florida, you no longer have the option to pay the ticket and move on.
As an aside, paying any traffic violation is the same as pleading guilty to the offense, and you will end up with a conviction for the offense and points on your driving record, so it’s important to think twice before paying any traffic ticket. If you are curious as to how many tickets are routinely given in Monroe County for going thirty miles or more over the posted speed limit, here are the numbers: In 2013, 251 tickets were issued for going thirty miles or more over the posted speed limit. That number dropped in 2014 to 202, then increased significantly in 2015 to 331.
For a speeding ticket of thirty miles or more over the posted speed limit, appearance before a Florida judge is mandatory. (If you were just traveling through the state, or if you are unable to make this appearance, you can have a Florida traffic ticket attorney appear on your behalf). Those charged with driving more than thirty miles over the posted speed limit, will be charged under Florida statutes 316.183, 316.189 and/or 316.187. Violations of these Florida statutes are non-criminal traffic infractions, punishable under the provisions stated.
As stated by Statute 316.183, regardless of the posted speed limit, you may not drive your vehicle at speeds greater than those which a reasonable person would drive under the same conditions. Counties and municipalities have the right to set maximum speed limits which are not the same under Florida statutes only if a thorough investigation has concluded such limits are reasonable.
Additional issues you should be aware of if you have received a speeding ticket in the state of Florida for going thirty miles or more above the speed limit include:
• The fines for the offense of driving thirty miles or more above the posted speed limit could range from $276 to $500.
• The minimum fine for driving fifty miles or more over the posted speed limit is $1,000.
• Your specific fine will be set by your judge, based on the circumstances surrounding your speeding ticket, input from the police officer who issued the ticket, and your prior driving record.
• The original speeding ticket filed with the clerk of the court must be signed by the ticketing officer and the defendant.
• In some cases, a judge may suspend the driver’s license of a person driving thirty or more miles above the posted speed limit even if that person has not exceeded the allowable points which trigger a suspension.
• If convicted of driving thirty miles or more over the posted speed limit, you will receive four points on your driving record. If an accident occurred as the result of your speed, you will receive six points.
• In some cases, an officer might amend the speeding ticket to 29 miles over the speed limit, which would help, however this is not all that common.
• The state of Florida uses three types of speed detection; laser, radar and pacing. Each of these types of speed detection have certain issues which can lead to a challenge on your behalf by your attorney.
• If you have a motorcycle endorsement, it could potentially be revoked if you are convicted for driving thirty miles or more above the posted speed limit.
• If you were clocked at these speeds in a construction zone or a school zone, your fines could be doubled.
• You could be sentenced to traffic school (although completion of traffic school would not result in your points being dismissed as it would at lower speeds).
Although you could appear in court on your own, this is not an option which is likely to result in a positive outcome. Judges tend to have little patience with those driving thirty miles or more over the posted speed limit, therefore is unlikely to listen to your excuses. Appearing before the judge with an experienced traffic offense attorney from The Law Firm, on the other hand, provides you with a fighting chance of having the penalties associated with your ticket minimized, or, possibly, even having the ticket dismissed. An attorney from The Law Place thoroughly understands the Florida laws which apply in your case, and understands how to best question the officer in order to determine whether procedures were properly followed.
Monroe County Courthouse
88820 Overseas Hwy
Marathon, Florida 33050