The second you start driving your vehicle in Florida, you assume a duty of care to all of the other users of the road. This includes other drivers, pedestrians, motorcycles, and cyclists. This assumed duty of care is set out by Florida Statute 768.81 and states that you are expected to follow the rules of the road and act in a reasonable manner to keep the other users of the road safe.
When you are driving, you are unlikely to be stopped by a police officer just because you are traveling a couple of miles per hour over the speed limit, especially if your driving is not erratic or endangering another person. When you travel over 30 mph faster than the posted speed limit, the stakes are dramatically increased. When breaking the speed limit by this amount, the punishments are much more severe, and you are almost guaranteed to be stopped by law enforcement if they see you.
This is due to the fact that the government believes the chances of hurting somebody else or causing serious damage to property or person drastically increases when you are traveling over 30 mph faster than the set speed limit.
Here at The Law Place, we understand that a momentary lapse of concentration or judgment can happen to anyone. We don’t think you should have to face massive fines or points on your license, and we have helped numerous clients have their charges reduced or dropped entirely after being caught speeding.
We have a 24-hour hotline that you can call any time of day in order to receive some unbiased and honest legal advice. So call us now at (855)-831-7020 to arrange a free consultation.
The Circumstances of How You Were Caught
In Washington County, the leniency that you are shown will depend entirely on what particular law enforcement officer pulls you over. If you are charged with traveling 29 mph over the speed limit, for example, the charges will be a lot less severe.
Many officers find speeding particularly heinous and will punish people to the full extent of their powers. This often happens if you are caught speeding close to a school or a neighborhood where kids play out on the streets a lot.
The specific statutes that allow you to be charged are Florida Statutes: 316.187, 316.189, and/or 316.183.
Potential Punishments for Speeding 30 MPH Over the Posted Speed Limit
If you have been given a speeding ticket for breaching the posted speed limits in Washington County, you should always seek the aid of a skilled and knowledgable speeding ticket attorney.
Fines range from $250 to $500, rising to over $1000 for being caught speeding over 50 mph over the limit.
The severity of your fines will more than likely be based on your previous driving record and the attitude of the officer who caught you.
Fines and speeding tickets are scary enough, but it is the other consequence that people generally worry about when they are caught speeding. Being caught speeding by a degree of 30 mph over the speed limit could lead to:
Mandatory Court Appearance
If you have been caught speeding over 30 mph over the speed limit in Washington County, you will be receiving a mandatory court summons with a court date. Appearing in court is a scary prospect; luckily, your attorney is permitted to attend in your stead. This can stop you from having to take time off work and explaining to your boss that you were caught speeding.
However, if possible, you should attend with your attorney as it shows willingness and may help gain you some leniency.
Bear in mind that judges have heard every excuse under the sun and are used to hearing them. Do not use an excuse if it was not a genuine one, as it may be more harmful to your case than just being honest.
The best way to approach the judge will be the way that your attorney advises. They may know the particular Washington County judge and may be able to offer insight into their temperament and attitude.
Points on Your Driving Record
Points on your driver’s license are perhaps the punishment that people want to avoid the most. Being found guilty of driving 30 mph over the Washington County speed limit will net you four points on your driver’s license. This could be increased to 6 points if you caused an accident.
Speeding ticket points can quickly add up to a license suspension in the State of Florida, which can be seriously debilitating to the majority of people.
For those that have a clean license, there are still consequences to points on your license. Points will usually increase your insurance premiums. Insurance costs are higher than ever before, so avoiding this is another reason people hire an attorney to help them with their case.
What an Attorney Can Do for You
After receiving a speeding ticket for traveling over 30 mph over the speed limit, we highly recommend you contact a skilled attorney. They can attend court on your behalf and will do everything within their power to have your charges reduced or dropped. Simply having an attorney will show that you are taking the matter seriously and could aid your chances.
Your attorney could also potentially argue that your charges should be dropped, depending on the specifics of your case.
Contact The Law Place Today
Our team of experienced attorneys are ready to fight for you and will give you the best possible chance at seeking a preferential result after you have been caught breaking the speed limit. We will investigate your speeding ticket and help you approach the matter in the best possible way.
Call us at The Law Place today for a free consultation at (855)-831-7020.
Washington County Courthouse
1293 W Jackson Ave # 100,