Under Florida Statue 768.81, every driver has an assumed duty of care to act in a responsible and safe manner whilst on the roads. This includes following road signs and obeying posted speed limits in order to keep yourself and other road users safe.
If you are traveling a few miles over the posted speed limit in Suwannee County, then it is unlikely that you would be stopped by a police officer and issued a speeding ticket. However, if you were going 30 mph or more over the speed limit, then not only would you be stopped and issued a speeding ticket, but you would also receive further penalties. This is because speeding at 30 mph or more is considered dangerous, and punishments may include fines, points on your driver’s license, and a mandatory court appearance.
If you or a loved one has been caught for driving 30 miles per hour or more over the speed limit, then it is highly recommended that you seek the advice of an experienced attorney. At The Law Place, our lawyers have plenty of experience dealing with speeding cases.
Our lawyers are committed to developing a positive attorney-client relationship and providing support and advice when you need it most. Our phone lines are open 24/7, so call us today on (855)-831-7020 for a free consultation with a highly skilled attorney.
The Circumstances of Your Vehicle Stop
The officer that stops you for speeding may be willing to show you some leniency, depending on the circumstances of your traffic stop. For example, they may issue you a speeding ticket for traveling 29 mph over the speed limit rather than 30, relieving you of some of the harsher penalties.
However, there are certain areas where your speeding is deemed to be particularly dangerous. For example, if you are caught speeding outside a school or college, in a construction zone, or a residential area, the risk of causing an accident increases greatly. Therefore, your speeding ticket will be taken more seriously.
The Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) website states that over 3.6 million traffic tickets were issued in 2014, and a total of 894,312 speeding tickets were handed out, making it the highest traffic ticket offense in Florida in 2014.
What Penalties May Be Associated With a Speeding Ticket?
In comparison to minor speeding tickets, where you can settle the case by paying a small fine and attending traffic school when you are caught speeding at 30 miles per hour or more over the speed limit, the consequences are far greater. The penalties will likely include fines, points on your driving record, and a compulsory court appearance.
Depending on which county in Florida that you are caught speeding, the fine may vary. Fines can range from $276 – $500. On occasion, the officer may take into account your previous driving record and the circumstances surrounding your ticket too.
If you are caught speeding near a school, residential area, or construction zone, then your fine may be doubled, as your driving is considered to be reckless. Furthermore, if you are caught speeding 50 mph or more over the speed limit, then the fine can increase to $1000.
Mandatory Court Appearance
If you are found guilty of speeding 30 mph or more over the posted speed limit in Florida, then you will be required to attend court. Fortunately, if you seek advice from an experienced attorney, they can help guide you through this process. Furthermore, they can even attend court on your behalf and speak professionally to the judge. This could be particularly helpful if you don’t want to tell work about your speeding ticket, or you live out of state.
It is worthwhile remembering that in court, judges have dealt with many speeding cases before yours and have heard every possible excuse as to why you may be speeding. Unless you can provide evidence to support your reasoning for speeding, then it is best to forget about the excuses.
Points on Your Driving License
Receiving points on your license can be a scary process as they can lead to a loss of your driving license. In addition, they can also cause financial strain, as insurance rates will inevitably increase.
If you receive a ticket for traveling 30 miles per hour or more over the speed limit, then you will be issued with four points on your license. If an accident is caused as a result of your speeding, then these points will increase to six. Whilst these points might sound minor. They can quickly add up and even lead to a loss of your license. A loss of license can cause a strain on your lifestyle as you may not be able to take your children to school or even travel to work.
You cannot attend traffic school to reduce these points if you are issued a speeding ticket for traveling 30 mph or more. Moreover, even if you have received no points on your license previously, it is within the judge’s power to suspend your license if they deem the penalty to be appropriate.
Methods for Measuring Speed
There are a number of ways that police officers can measure the speed of a moving vehicle, although only a handful have been approved to use as evidence. A comprehensive list can be found on the Florida Administrative Code. Some of the most common methods are:
Radar guns are the most common method used by police officers to measure speed. However, it can sometimes be regarded as inaccurate. This method measures speed according to the radio waves that bounce off a car, which then provides a police officer with a reading. Officers must be highly skilled and trained in using the device.
Laser guns are becoming an increasingly common method in Florida for measuring speed. This device works by shining a high powered laser onto a moving vehicle. The speed at which the laser bounces back is then measured against the speed of light to provide a reading. These devices are considered to provide more accurate readings in comparison to the radar speed detection method.
Contact The Law Place Today
If you or a loved one have been caught speeding 30 miles per hour or more over the speed limit in Florida, then you should seek the help of a knowledgeable lawyer. At The Law Place, our lawyers are committed to developing a positive attorney-client relationship and will work to reduce the penalties held against you.
Our phone lines are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, so we can be on hand to offer support and advice whenever you need it. Call us today on (855)-831-7020 and receive a free consultation with one of our experienced attorneys.
Suwannee County Courthouse
200 Ohio Ave S,