Most of us have gotten a speeding ticket at some point. Usually, we can pay the fine online with little to no hassle. However, the consequences of getting caught more than 30 miles per hour over the speed limit are more serious, and you won’t be able to get off so easily.
In Sumter County, speeding tickets are handed out frequently. The scenic Sumter Heritage Byway brings in tourists from around the state and country who take the ever-busy Florida Turnpike or I-75 to reach their holiday destination. Motorists on these roads caught violating the speed limit can face hundreds of dollars in fines, points on their license, and depending on your driving record, a license suspension.
Don’t wait to contact a lawyer as soon as possible if you’ve been charged with a major speeding violation. The Law Place is here to help you through the court process to make it as painless as we can. We have experience serving people all over the state and will bring a plethora of knowledge to your charge. Though it’s not always possible to get tickets thrown out, we’ll do everything in our power to get your fine reduced and help you avoid any points on your license.
Call The Law place now to arrange a free consultation at (855)-831-7020 and start the fight against your ticket today.
What Are the Fines for Speeding?
The Sumter County Clerk’s website doesn’t list the exact fine for speeding 30 miles over the limit, but you can expect your fine to be around $300. This is doubled in a school or construction zone. While Florida Statute 318.18 may list the fine for speeding over 30 miles as $250, the state of Florida gives authority to counties and cities to determine the exact amount. Your fine will be finalized by the judge or clerk of the court on the date of your appearance.
If you’re caught 50 miles or more over the limit, the fine is $1,106 for a first offense. A second offense is $2,606.
Lower speeding offenses can be paid by credit card or by mailing in a check. However, speeding 30 mph or more over the limit results in a mandatory court appearance. You won’t be able to pay your fine until your court date.
What Other Penalties Are There?
In addition to the fines listed above, a serious speeding violation of this nature will result in four points on your driving license.
Points increase your insurance rates and can end in a license suspension or revocation if they accrue over time. The penalties are as follows:
- 12 points in 12 months – Mandatory one-month suspension.
- 18 points in 18 months – Mandatory three-month suspension.
- 24 points in 36 months – Mandatory one-year suspension.
- 15 violations or three major offenses in five years – Mandatory license revocation.
Is Speeding Considered Reckless Driving?
Speeding 30 mph over the limit is not a reckless driving charge. Other factors must also be at play, such as if you were weaving in and out of traffic.
Florida Statute 316.192 describes reckless driving as a motorist displaying a wanton disregard for the safety of other drivers, pedestrians, or property through their actions. The ticket for this offense is a maximum of $500, doubled if committed in a school or construction zone. A second offense has a maximum fine of $1,000.
The traffic ticket for driving 30 mph over the speed limit does not carry any jail time. However, if your speeding ticket is upgraded to a reckless driving charge, a judge may sentence you to a short prison sentence, but this is rare.
If you’ve been charged with reckless driving or a more severe speeding violation, contact The Law Place today. You will need a qualified lawyer to represent your case. We may be able to get your ticket reduced and help you avoid any potential jail time.
How Many MPH Can You Go Over the Speed Limit?
There is traditionally an understanding between motorists and police officers that driving 5 miles per hour over the speed limit is socially acceptable. There are fines for this, but cops won’t typically enforce the rule. However, this may be upheld in school or construction zones where speeding of any amount is considered a higher risk.
Don’t think that you have the right to drive 5 mph over the speed limit. Cops can still give you a speeding ticket under state law, especially if you were pulled over for other reasons.
What Devices Will Police Use to Measure My Speed?
Police officers typically use one of two devices to measures a car’s speed in Florida.
Radar guns have been in use for decades and require a special license to operate. They bounce radar waves off a moving vehicle to measure how fast someone may be driving.
Laser guns are more modern devices that are less prone to inaccurate readings than their older counterpart. They utilize a laser beam that measures how fast the light returns to the user to measure movement speed.
The evidence produced by both of these tools is hard to argue in court. However, an experienced lawyer can challenge the validity of the readings recorded by the police officer and use this as a basis for getting the ticket thrown out.
Contact The Law Place to see how we can challenge the radar and laser gun readings that justified your ticket in the first place.
How Can a Florida Speeding Ticket Lawyer Help Me?
Having The Law Place represent you in traffic court has several benefits. Our investigators will examine all the evidence against you and search for ways to contest the validity or legality of your speeding ticket. If we can get the charges thrown out or reduced, we will.
A lawyer can also appear in court in your place, this may prevent you from having to tell work about your traffic offense.
The cost of a speeding ticket lawyer could be far less than the fines and insurance premiums a serious traffic violation may cost you. Contact The Law Place today to find out how much our representation will cost and what we can bring to the table in the fight against your ticket.
Can Traffic School Help Me After Speeding 30 MPH Over the Limit?
Traffic school can be attended by most motorists to avoid points being added to their driving record by a speeding ticket. Drivers can attend once per year for a maximum of five times throughout their life.
However, motorists violating the speed limit by 30 mph or more cannot attend traffic school to negate points. You can be sentenced to traffic school by a judge, but this won’t take away the four points being added to your license.
Contact The Law Place Speeding Ticket Lawyers Today
Have you been served a speeding ticket for driving 30 mph or more over the speed limit?
Contact The Law Place Sumter County traffic lawyers today. Our attorney, David Haenel boasts over 15 years of experience helping people avoid points on their license for traffic violations. Don’t put off starting the fight against your traffic ticket.
Call The Law Place now at (855)-831-7020 to arrange a free consultation.
Sumter County Courthouse
215 E McCollum Ave,