Police serve tickets for violating the speed limit every day. In St. Lucie County, more traffic tickets are served on average than in most other places in the country. Straight roads free from traffic like Indian River Drive make it easy for motorists to develop a lead foot now and then.
When you’re caught speeding more than 30 miles over the speed limit, the consequences can be serious. Hundreds of dollars in fines, mandatory traffic school, points on your license, and even a license suspension.
If you’ve been served a ticket for speeding, call The Law Place today. Our firm has represented clients all over the state of Florida with cases just like yours. If we can get your ticket reduced or thrown out, we will.
Schedule a free consultation with one of our attorneys today.
Call The Law Place at (855)-831-7020.
Fines for Speeding Over 30 MPH in St. Lucie County
Florida Statute 318.18 lists the minimum fine for driving 30 mph over the speed limit as $250. Fines are doubled in school or construction zones. However, the state allows the exact amount of the fine to be determined by the local courts in counties and cities. A judge or clerk can serve you with a much higher amount to pay.
While lower speeding offenses can be paid online or by mail, the St. Lucie County website mandates a court appearance for speeding over 30 mph. You will not know how much your fine will be until your court date.
It is important to seek legal advice for traffic violations such as speeding 30 mph over the limit. Contact The Law Place to learn how much your fine can be and to find out what legal options you may have.
Other Penalties for Speeding Over 30 MPH in St. Lucie County
Fines aren’t the only penalty the court can serve you with for a speeding ticket. Driving 30 mph over the speed limit adds 4 traffic points to your driving record. These points accrue and can be used to suspend or revocate your license permanently, only disappearing 36 months after the date they were added.
- 12 points within 12 months – 30-day license suspension.
- 18 points within 18 months – Three-month license suspension.
- 24 points within 36 months – One-year license suspension.
Committing 15 point-carrying violations or three major traffic offenses within five years will allow the court and DMV to strip you of your driving privileges permanently. You must keep track of your point total and be wary of repeat offenses. One minor offense may be enough to suspend your license.
Any amount of points on your license can have repercussions. You could face higher insurance rates and if you drive as a profession then your job could be at risk. The best thing to do is to see if an attorney can have your ticket dismissed.
Is Driving 30 MPH Over the Speed Limit Considered Reckless Driving?
Driving 30 miles over the speed limit is not a criminal offense and cannot be punished with jail time. This can only happen if other circumstances meant that you are also facing a reckless driving charge.
Florida Statute 316. 192 describes reckless driving as a criminal charge in which a motorist operates a vehicle with wanton disregard for the safety of others and/or property. Police have the authority to issue this sort of citation instead of a simple speeding ticket. Reckless driving carries a fine of $500 and possible jail time of up to 90 days.
If you’ve been charged with reckless driving, you need to contact a lawyer as soon as possible. The Law Place can help you prepare the case for your court date, so you show up ready to fight.
Can a Police Officer Let Me Off for a Speeding Ticket Over 30 MPH?
In all likeliness, a police officer will not let you off for speeding more than 30 mph over the limit. There is rarely an excuse for violating traffic laws to such an extent.
However, this is not an absolute certainty. It is within a police officer’s discretion to serve citations. You may catch one feeling sympathetic towards you. Although it is rare to entirely escape a speeding ticket, the officer may downgrade the citation. For example, if you’re going speeding 32 mph, your traffic ticket may only be for 29 mph. The difference is small but consequential.
Police have heard every excuse imaginable, especially for speeding. Being late to work or your grandmother’s funeral isn’t going to fly. Don’t fabricate excuses, and stick to the truth. Also, remember that you don’t have to say anything at all. Saying nothing is sometimes better than expressing regret or making up a reason.
Can I Use Traffic School to Get Out of Points on My License?
In most cases, traffic school is available to motorists as an alternative to points being added to their driving record. Drivers are allowed to attend the course once per year for a total of five times throughout their life.
However, this option is unavailable for drivers caught 30 mph or more over the speed limit. You may be sentenced to attend traffic school by the judge, but the course will not negate any points on your license.
How Can a St. Lucie County Speeding Ticket Lawyer Help?
A lawyer from The Law Place can help fight your speeding ticket. All evidence against you is available for your defense. We will conduct an investigation on your behalf into the circumstances of your traffic stop and examine the police records of your traffic ticket. If we find any discrepancies or illegalities in the officer’s observations or recorded evidence, we may be able to have your ticket thrown out.
Also, a lawyer can attend court on your behalf. Although this may save you some time and the hassle of an inconvenient court appearance. This makes it look like you are taking your traffic ticket seriously, and doing so will increase the chances of the judge or clerk being lenient.
Contact The Law Place St. Lucie County Speeding Ticket Lawyers Today!
Have you been served with a speeding ticket for driving 30 mph or more over the limit?
Don’t hesitate, call The Law Place attorneys today. Start the fight against your speeding ticket with a team of experienced attorneys by your side every step of the way. If you’re afraid of how a judge may sentence you at your court appearance, a lawyer from our firm will get the best result for your case. We offer a free consultation with no obligation to ensure you know all the options at your disposal.
Don’t wait around for your court date. Hire a lawyer from The Law Place and start preparing today.
Contact us now at (855)-831-7020.
St. Lucie County Courthouse
218 S 2nd St,