Got Caught in Marion County Speeding Over 30 MPH?

If you are driving a few miles over the posted speed limit in Marion County, and are not driving recklessly or endangering others, then it is unlikely that you will be stopped for speeding. However, vehicles that are caught driving excessively over the speed limit will most likely be stopped by a police officer and handed a ticket. It is probable that the driver may also face other serious consequences in Marion County.

Driving 30 miles per hour or more over the speed limit is considered dangerous to other road users. As a result, the punishments faced will be more severe than a general speeding ticket. These punishments can include fines, points on your license, and a mandatory court appearance.

If you or someone you know has been caught driving 30 miles per hour or more over the speed limit, then you should seek the advice of a knowledgeable attorney. We will guide you through the process and provide continuous support and advice. Our phone lines are open 24/7, so we are on hand to help you and provide advice whenever you need it. Call us today for a free consultation on (855)-831-7020.

What Are the Circumstances Surrounding Your Traffic Stop?

In Marion County, depending on the circumstances of your traffic stop, the police officer that pulls you over may show you some leniency. For example, if your speeding ticket is written for 29 mph rather than 30 mph, then you will be able to avoid some of the more severe consequences.

However, if you are caught speeding in certain areas such as close to a school, in a residential or pedestrian area, or in a construction zone, then it is unlikely that a police offer will show any leniency. This is because, in these areas, dangerous driving is far more likely to cause catastrophic accidents.

If you were found to be speeding over the posted speed limit in Marion County, then a police officer could charge you under the following Florida Statutes: 316.187, 316.189, or 316.183.

What Fines Are Associated With Speeding Tickets?

Fines that are handed out for speeding in the state of Florida vary from county to county. If you are caught speeding, you could face a fine between $276 and $500. The greater your speed over the posted speed limit, then the likelihood is, the greater your fine will be. For example, if you are caught speeding 50 mph or more over the speed limit, then your fine could be increased to $1000. In addition, if you were found to be speeding in a residential or pedestrian area, in a construction zone, or close by to a school, your original fine could be doubled.

Overall, fines can vary significantly depending on the circumstances in which you were caught speeding, your previous driving record, and the testimonial from the police officer that caught you.

Following a speeding ticket, you should seek the advice of an experienced speeding ticket attorney who will work to minimize the penalties and fines you may face.

What Other Issues May Be Associated With Your Speeding Ticket?

Usually, a speeding ticket is relatively minor. Often you will pay a small fine or attend a traffic school course. However, if you receive a ticket for traveling 30 miles per hour or more over the speed limit, then you are likely to face much more serious consequences, including a mandatory court appearance and points on your license.

Mandatory Court Appearance

If you receive a ticket for speeding 30 mph or more over the speed limit in Marion County, then you will receive a mandatory court appearance. Fortunately, if you seek the help and advice of an experienced speeding ticket attorney, then they will be able to appear and speak professionally to the judge in court on your behalf.

Judges are well aware of the many excuses people make up for speeding. Unless you can provide a genuine reason and give evidence that supports that reason, then you are better off leaving your excuses at home. At The Law Place, our attorneys will be able to advise you on the best way to approach and proceed with your case.

Points on Your Driving License

If you are found to have been driving 30 mph or more over the speed limit, then you will receive four points on your driving record. If an accident has occurred as a result of your dangerous driving, then these points will increase to six. You will not have the option to attend a traffic school to reduce points.

While these points may sound minor, but if you receive 12 points over the course of 12 months, for example, then you will lose your driving license. A loss of license can have life-changing effects on the way you live your life, such as being unable to travel to work.

In addition, points on your driving license will increase your insurance policy, and may therefore present a financial burden.

How Was My Car Speed Measured?

There are a number of ways that a police officer can measure vehicle speed in Florida. However, only a few are approved to be used as evidence. The Florida Administrative Code website provides a comprehensive list of devices used to measure speed in Florida. Some of the most common devices are:

Radar Gun

This method is the most common in measuring speed. It uses radio waves that bounce off a vehicle and provide an officer with a speed reading.

For this device to work accurately, a vehicle needs to be in sight of the radar gun. These guns require a level of skill, and the officer using the device must be trained in order to avoid giving inaccurate readings. Florida Statute 316.1906 outlines the standards of use for this device.

A skilled speeding ticket attorney may challenge the reading from radar speed detection, particularly if the ticket was for a vehicle speeding just over 30 mph.

Laser Gun

Laser guns are becoming increasingly common across counties in Florida in detecting how fast vehicles are traveling.

To measure speed, these devices shine a high powered laser onto a moving vehicle. It then measures how long this takes to bounce back to the gun, which is then measured against the speed of light to provide a reading. These devices are generally considered to provide more accurate readings.

How Can a Skilled Attorney Help Me?

If you or a loved one has received a speeding ticket as a result of traveling 30 mph or more over the posted speed limit, then it is highly recommended you seek advice from a skilled speeding ticket attorney. They will work to do all they can to minimize penalties and can also attend court on your behalf. The outcome of the case will depend heavily on the specific circumstances. However, having a skilled attorney by your side will place you in the best possible position.

A knowledgeable attorney will also try to convince the judge in court to withhold adjudication under certain conditions. For example, if you commit no other traffic violations within a certain time period. Whilst you will still be liable to pay fines, you may be able to escape the points on your driving record and ultimately save your driving license.

Contact The Law Place Today

Our skilled attorneys will work hard to secure the best possible outcome for your case in Marion County, Florida.

Don’t allow a speeding ticket to result in the loss of your license. Seek advice today, and together our attorneys will work to reduce the charges against you. At The Law Place, our phone line is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, so you can seek guidance and advice whenever you need it most. Call us today on (855)-831-7020 for a free consultation.

Marion County Courthouse

110 NW 1st Ave #1,


FL 34475