Traffic laws are put in place for a reason. However, if you are seen to be traveling just above the speed limit, then an officer is unlikely to take notice. On the other hand, if you are found to be spending excessively, then you will face certain consequences, especially if you are found to be traveling over 30 miles per hour over the limit.
In Manatee County, traveling over 30 mph over the posted speed limit could be dangerous. You will be considered to have endangered others with your behavior, and the consequences reflect this. You will receive a fine, a mandatory court summons, and points on your license, which you will not avoid by attending traffic school if charged.
If you have been given a speeding ticket in Manatee or anywhere else in the State of Florida, then you should seek advice from The Law Place. At The Law Place, all of pour traffic attorneys are experienced and knowledgeable and have stood in courtrooms to support our clients countless times. We will do everything possible to lessen your charge or have it dropped.
We are contactable 24/7 so that we can give advice and guide you through the process when you need it. Call us now at (855)-831-7020.
The Circumstances of Your Traffic Stop
In Manatee County, if your ticket was written for 29 mph over the speed limit, as opposed to 30, then you will escape the worse consequences of a traffic ticket for excessive speeding. If you are charged with speeding 30 mph or more over the limit, you could be charged under Florida Statutes: 316.187, 316.189, and/or 316.183.
Furthermore, the consequences become more serious if you already have points on your license or if your speeding resulted in an accident.
Consequences of Florida Speeding Tickets
Most people in Manatee County will receive a speeding ticket at some point in their life, and it is usually not a big deal. They pay a small fine or attend traffic school, and they never think of it again. However, if you have been ticketed for traveling 30 mph or more over the speed limit, that is a different story, and you will benefit from a skilled Florida attorney to represent you.
Fines Associated With Your Speeding Ticket
Depending on where you received your speeding ticket and how fast you were traveling, fines vary, but they could reach up to $1000.
Your driving record could also impact the fine you receive, the testimonial of the officer from the scene, and the quality of your representation.
In the state of Florida, such a fine is sufficiently frightening; however, the other consequences you could be facing for excessive speeding are considered worse for most people.
Mandatory Court Appearance
Following a speeding ticket for traveling 30 mph or above over the limit in Manatee County, you will automatically receive a mandatory court appearance. If you have never had to go to court before, this could be the root of a lot of anxiety. Luckily in Florida, an attorney can accompany you. Our attorneys have dealt with every type of person, and we will do everything we can to put your mind at ease and make you feel confident that you have the best representation.
In fact, you can even opt to have an attorney attend on your behalf. This is a good option for people with severe anxiety, those who live out of state, or people who want to avoid trying to get out of work to attend court.
Keep in mind that judges have heard every excuse in the book, probably many times before. Perhaps you weren’t aware of the speed limit, or you were late to pick up your child from school, whatever it is, unless you have a genuine reason and proof of it, it is best not to bring it up. Your attorney will be able to give you advice on how to present yourself in court. They are accustomed to the courtroom and will give your case the attention it deserves.
Points on Your Driving Record
Following a speeding ticket for traveling 30 mph or more over the limit, the most concerning thing could be the points on your driving record. Unlike other speeding tickets, you will be unable to attend traffic school to avoid them. If charged, you will automatically be given four points, which increases to six if your speeding was thought to have caused an accident.
That could sound manageable, however, points quickly add up, 12 points in 12 months, 18 points in 18 months, or 24 in 36 months, which will result in a license suspension. The loss of a driver’s license is rehabilitating. For some people, it results in them losing their job, or their children are forced to change schools. The massive burden it could have on your life is not worth the risk if it can be avoided.
Even if you have a clean driving record, points will result in your insurance rates increases. Therefore, regardless of your driving history, you will still experience financial strain if charged.
How Your Speed May Have Been Measured
Only approved devices can be used to detect speed in Manatee County. For a full list, see Florida Administrative Code. Although there are several methods on this list, the most common devices we see used are:
The most common device we see used is radar; however, this device is outdated and can be inaccurate.
A radar gun uses radio waves that bounce off your vehicle and give the officer a reading of your speed. For them to be accurate, your vehicle needs to be in sight of the device. An officer must be trained in how to use them, and they require some skill.
For radar guns to measure the speed at which you are traveling, it uses radio waves that bounce off your vehicle. Those waves are then used to give the officer a speed reading. The standards for use are laid out in Florida Statute 316.1906.
A skilled attorney could challenge the accuracy of a reading from a radar gun, especially if you were just barely over 30 mph. If this can be questioned, then you could be given the option of traffic school to avoid points, which might just save your license from being suspended.
In Manatee County, we increasingly see laser detection used, which is considered more accurate. Laser guns shine a high powered laser onto vehicles and measure how long it takes to come back, against the speed of light.
What an Attorney Can Do For You
An attorney will be able to attend court with you or on your behalf. They will do everything they can to question your charges and try and have them reduced or dropped. Having an attorney on your side shows the judge that you are a professional who is taking the incident seriously.
Your attorney may be able to argue that the speed reading was inaccurate, or they could ask for an arrangement whereby the judge to withholds adjudication if you do not commit any further traffic violations in a set time frame. You will still have fines to pay, and you may have to attend traffic school, but your license could be saved, and you will not receive points.
Contact The Law Place Today
If you have been found to be speeding 30 miles per hour or more above the limit in the state of Florida, then you need an experienced attorney on your side.
At The Law Place, we always act professionally and do everything we can to prevent you from facing the worse consequences of a speeding ticket. When you seek help from us, an attorney will become your advocate, and you will have someone by your side with the knowledge and experience required to secure the best outcome for your case.
Call us at The Law Place today on (855)-831-7020.
Manatee County Courthouse
1115 Manatee Ave W,