The penalties that a driver caught speeding over 30 mph over the legal limit in Lafayette County could receive are considerably more severe than speeding tickets handed out to drivers who are simply a few miles per hour over the limit. This is because driving at such an excessive speed is incredibly dangerous. The penalties that an offender could face include a fine, points on their driving license, and a mandatory appearance in court.
If you have received a ticket in Lafayette county for speeding, you may need the help and legal advice of an experienced traffic attorney. At The Law Place, in Florida, we have helped many of our clients escape the worse penalties connected to their speeding tickets. Contact us for a free consultation with one of our skilled attorneys. Call us today at (855)-831-7020.
The Circumstances of Your Lafayette County Traffic Stop
In Lafayette County, where you were caught speeding can factor into the severity of the penalties that you will face following your speeding ticket. For example, if a police officer catches you speeding in a construction zone, by a school, or in a residential area, your fines could be doubled. This is because the risk of a catastrophic accident occurring in these areas caused by speeding is much greater than elsewhere.
If a police officer catches you speeding at 30 mph or more above the speed limit in Florida, you could be charged under any of the following Florida Statutes: 316.187, 316.189, and/or 316.183.
Fines You Can Expect Following Your Speeding Ticket
As soon as you have received a speeding ticket for excessive speeding in Florida, we strongly recommend that you seek the help of a skilled attorney who will be able to help minimize the consequences that you will likely face.
The fines that drivers can receive following a speeding ticket vary in Florida from county to county. Although, if you have received a speeding ticket in Lafayette County, you can expect to receive a fine in the region of $276 to $500. This fine could exceed $1000 if you were caught driving 50 mph over the posted speed limit.
The fine that you will receive will also depend on your driving record, the testimonial of the police officer, and the particular circumstances of your speeding ticket.
Fines can be daunting, but they are not always the penalty that offenders fear most when receiving a speeding ticket.
Further Issues You Can Expect Following Your Speeding Ticket
Generally, speeding tickets handed out to offenders driving a few miles per hour over the speed limit are not a major deal. The offenders will simply have to pay a small fine or attend traffic school, and that would be the end of it. However, the consequences of being caught driving 30 mph or more over the speed limit are more severe.
Mandatory Court Appearance
If you are caught driving at an excessive speed, for example, 30 mph or more above the legal limit, it is more than likely that you will be expected to appear in court. This is usually a scary prospect for most people, and that is why we recommend that offenders speak to an attorney ahead of their court date to get all of the legal advice they may need. An attorney will be able to represent you and fight for your case in an attempt to get some of the penalties lessened.
An attorney may even be able to attend court on your behalf so that you wouldn’t have to. This may be a particularly appealing option if you live out of state.
Points on Your Driving Record
Receiving points on your driver’s license is usually the penalty that offenders fear most when they are handed a speeding ticket. A driver who has received a speeding ticket for driving 30 mph or more above the legal limit in Lafayette County can expect to have four points placed on their license.
If their driving resulted in an accident at that speed, they will have six points placed on their license. Not only this but being handed a ticket which states you were driving 30 mph or more over the limit will mean that you will be unable to attend a traffic school to avoid the points.
These points may not seem like many or a major deal to have to worry about, but they can very quickly add up. If you accumulate a certain amount of points within a short period, you can risk having your license suspended in the State of Florida. For example, if you receive twelve points within twelve months, you can expect to lose your license for one month. The more points you receive in a particular time frame, the longer you risk having your license suspended. Losing your license can majorly disrupt your day-to-day life, and that is why you need to seek the help of a defense attorney as soon as you have received your speeding ticket.
Contact The Law Place Today
If you or someone you know has been charged with traffic violations, you should contact us at The Law Place in Florida today. David Haenel has over 15 years’ experience helping people escape the worse speeding penalties.
Contact us today for a free consultation. Our phone number is (855)-831-7020.
Lafayette County Courthouse
120 West Main St,