In accordance with Florida Statute 768.81, every driver has a duty of care when controlling their vehicle in St. Johns County. They are fully expected to drive mindfully and follow the rules of the road in order to keep all drivers and pedestrians safe. If you are not posing any danger and are only driving your vehicle only a few miles per hour over the posted speed limit, then a police officer isn’t likely to pull you over and issue you a speeding ticket.
However, if you were caught excessively speeding over 30 mph or more over the limit, then you have violated this duty of care, and you will inevitably receive a speeding ticket from a police officer. In addition, you will be considered a danger on the road, and the punishments for excessive speeding are much more serious than simply receiving a general speeding ticket in St. Johns County. A court appearance will be mandatory, you will be given a fine, and points will be added to your driver’s license.
If you received a speeding ticket in St. Johns County and you are not sure what to do next, then you are in need of some honest advice from a knowledgable attorney. At The Law Place, we have dealt with many cases that involve speeding over the limit, and we know exactly how to help you. Our commitment to you includes doing everything we can to reduce your charges and prevent your license from being suspended. We will explain the situation to you and be at your side every step of the way.
The phone lines at The Law Place are open 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Reach out to us, and we can offer you legal advice on your next steps. Contact us now on (855)-831-7020.
The Circumstances of Your Traffic Stop
Depending on your circumstances, the police officer who stops you might show you a degree of leniency for your speeding. Instead of issuing you a ticket for driving 30 miles per hour or more, they might write your ticket for 29 miles per hour over the limit. In this case, you will avoid some of the more serious consequences for speeding.
There are certain places where speeding is considered to be more hazardous than others, such as speeding near a school, a residential area, or a construction zone. If you were caught speeding in these particular areas, then it is likely your fines will be doubled.
Fines Associated With Your Speeding Ticket
In the state of Florida, it is customary for people who have been given a ticket for speeding to reach out and contact an experienced attorney. They can assist you in reducing the severity of the consequences.
The amount of a fine varies from county to county, usually between $276 to $500 in St. Johns County. Unless you were caught driving 50 mph or more over the speed limit, then a fine could possibly surpass $1000. It is also worth noting that a fine will be based on your previous driving record, the specifics of your case, and the testimonial of the police officer who pulled you over for speeding.
Fines may seem frightening for some people, but there are much harsher consequences for excessively speeding that are considered worse in the state of Florida.
Other Issues Associated With Your Florida Speeding Ticket
Most people will see a general speeding ticket as nothing major. Usually, you will have to pay a standard fine or attend a traffic school. But if you were caught speeding 30 mph or more over the speed limit, then the consequences will be more drastic.
Mandatory Court Appearance
In St Johns County, a court appearance will be mandatory if you received a speeding ticket for driving 30 mph or more over the speed limit. Some people might be fearful about this, but the good news is that an attorney can be present in the court hearing to speak on your behalf. This may also save you from having to explain to work why you need to book a day off.
It is important to note that it is not wise to try and talk your way out of your charges yourself when you’re in court. Judges are aware of all the excuses that people come up with, and they’ve heard the same ones countless times. From running late for a meeting to rushing to the hospital. However, if you have evidence to prove that you had a genuine reason for speeding, then a skilled attorney can advise you on your best course of action. They can even approach the judge and speak to them on your behalf to make your case clear.
Points on Your Driving Record
If you were discovered to be guilty, then one of the main concerns you might have is the points that will be added to your driver’s license following a traffic ticket.
- Four points will be added to your driver’s license if you were issued a traffic ticket for speeding 30 miles per hour or more over the speed limit.
- Six points will be added to your driver’s license if you happened to cause a car accident as a result of your speeding.
- In addition, going to traffic school will not be an option for you to avoid points.
To some people, this might not seem like much, but speeding points can quickly accumulate. For example, you will lose your driver’s license for a set period of time if you end up with 12 points in the timescale of 12 months, 18 points in the timescale of 18 months, or 24 points in the timescale of 36 months. This is unfortunate as losing your license can be destabilizing for you and your family, as it can prevent you from taking your children to school or being able to go to work. It can disrupt your lifestyle and present a financial burden.
Someone can have a clean driving record with no history of traffic violations, but points will still result in their insurance rates going up.
How Your Speed May Have Been Measured
You can view a list of speed measurement devices that are used in St. Johns County on the Florida Administrative Code website. However, only certain devices can be used as evidence, and they have to be approved first. The most common speed measurement devices are:
For decades, police officers have used radar guns to measure the speed of moving vehicles.
The device uses radio waves that bounce off your vehicle, which are then used to give the police officer a speed reading.
In order to receive an accurate speed reading, it is essential for the vehicle to be in sight of the radar gun. Under certain conditions, the device has previously been known to give a false speed reading. Also, radar guns require a certain skill level to be used, which is why police officers have to undergo training and obtain a license to use them. The standards are laid out in Florida Statute 316.1906.
If your traffic ticket was written for barely over 30 miles per hour, then an experienced attorney could possibly argue that the speed reading from the device was inaccurate.
In St. Johns County, laser guns are growing in popularity and usage in the police force, and are slowly replacing radar guns.
The gun works by shining a laser onto the moving vehicle; it then measures the length of time it takes for the laser to bounce back. This is then calculated against the speed of light to produce an accurate speed reading for the police officer using the device.
What an Attorney Can Do for You
In the state of Florida, you will need to seek advice from a knowledgable attorney if you were caught speeding 30 miles per hour or more over the speed limit. An attorney from The Law Place will do everything in their power to reduce your charges and possibly get the case dismissed entirely. It is important to note that the outcome will largely depend on the details of your situation, but one of our skilled attorneys will talk you through the process.
If you do not commit another traffic violation within a set period of time, an experienced attorney from The Law Place will do what they can to try and convince the judge to withhold adjudication. If this ensues, then you will avoid the extra points on your driver’s license, but you will still need to pay the fines.
Contact The Law Place Today
If you were caught speeding in St. Johns County, then you should seek advice from one of our professional attorneys at The Law Place who can become your trusted advocate. They will strive to achieve the best possible outcome and fight for your rights. This includes getting your penalties reduced and possibly having the case dropped altogether.
Reach out and call us at The Law Place now on (855)-831-7020, if you wish to receive the best legal advice from a reputable law firm.
St. Johns County Courthouse
4010 Lewis Speedway # B,