Got Caught in Jackson County Speeding Over 30 MPH?

Everyone in Florida who chooses to drive a vehicle has a presumed duty of care to all of those around them, outlined in Florida Statute 768.81. Drivers are expected to follow the rules of the road and drive reasonably to keep all other road users safe. If a person is caught driving a few miles per hour above the speed limit and they are not endangering anyone, it is unlikely that a police officer will pull their vehicle to a stop and hand the driver a speeding ticket.

However, if a person is caught speeding excessively, for example, 30 mph or above the speed limit, they can expect to be stopped by police because their driving is dangerous. The punishments a person can face for traveling at this speed are far more severe than a general speeding ticket. An offender can expect to face fines, a mandatory court appearance, and points on their license.

If you or someone you know has received traffic tickets for speeding in Jackson County, you should seek the legal help of a skilled speeding ticket attorney. At The Law Place, we have a team of reputable lawyers with a wealth of experience in helping people escape the harsh penalties for excessive speeding. If you have received a traffic ticket, contact us today for a free consultation. Call us now at (855)-831-7020.

The Circumstances of Your Jackson County Traffic Stop

In Jackson County, where you are caught speeding can factor into whether your Jackson County police officer is willing to show you some leniency. For example, they may write you a speeding ticket, which states that you were traveling at 29 mph above the speed limit rather than 30 mph or above. This will mean that you will escape some of the more serious consequences.

However, speeding in some areas of the county is more dangerous than others. Therefore, if you are caught excessively speeding in a school zone, construction zone, or a residential area, the chances are that a police officer will not show you any leniency for speeding. Not only this, but you can expect the fines that you receive to double.

In Jackson County, if you were caught speeding thirty mph or more over the speed limit, you can be charged under Florida Statutes: 316.187, 316.189, and/or 316.183.

Fines You Can Expect for Your Spending Ticket

The fines that a person can receive for their speeding ticket in Florida vary from county to county. Although, if you are caught speeding, you can expect to be issued with a fine alongside your speeding ticket in the region of $276 to $500. If you are caught driving over 50 mph over the legal limit, you can expect your fines to exceed $1000.

Fines can also vary depending on your driving record and the circumstances surrounding your case. Being handed a fine can be scary. The Law Place recommends that you seek the help of a traffic lawyer if you are facing charges for traffic violations. They will be able to give you all the legal help and guidance you may be looking for.

Further Issues Associated With Your Florida Speeding Ticket

Usually, a typical speeding ticket handed out to a driver for traveling a few mph over the legal limit is not a major deal. But, the traffic ticket handed to a driver traveling at or over thirty mph over the limit in Jackson County will carry more serious consequences.

Mandatory Court Appearance

For excessively speeding in Jackson County, you will receive a mandatory court appearance. This can be a scary prospect for most people as they worry about the process and court costs. This is why we advise that you seek the guidance of a speeding ticket lawyer. A speeding ticket lawyer will be able to explain the whole court process to you and even attend court on your behalf. If you live far away or you are unable to take the time away from work, then having an attorney appear at court for you could save you a lot of hassle.

Points on Your Driving Record

The punishment that most people are concerned with when they receive a traffic ticket is the points that will be added to their driving record if they are found guilty of speeding. If you are charged with driving thirty mph or more over the legal limit in Jackson County, you will receive four points. If your excessive speeding resulted in an accident, then you can expect to receive six points on your driving record.

You may be thinking that these points do not seem like much, but points on your driving record can quickly add up. For example, if you receive twelve points within twelve months, you will automatically lose your license for one month in the State of Florida. The more points you receive in a set period can lead to you having your driver’s license suspended for a much longer period of time.

For most people, the loss of a driver’s license can be debilitating. It can prevent you from shopping, working, and even taking your children to school. A speeding ticket for excessively speeding can massively disrupt the way that you live your life.

We strongly recommend that you seek the help of a speeding ticket lawyer to try and dismiss your speeding tickets, even if you have a clean record or are not concerned about losing your license.

Contact The Law Place Today

If you or someone you know has received speeding tickets for traveling at 30 mph or more over the limit, we advise that you seek the legal representation of a skilled ticket lawyer. A lawyer will be able to guide you through the process of your mandatory court appearance, explain all the court costs, and answer any questions that you may have.

Don’t let a speeding ticket lead to you losing your license. Fight the charges brought against you and attempt to lessen them.

Contact The Law Place today in Florida for a free consultation. We are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week, to listen to you. Call us today at (855)-831-7020.

Jackson County Courthouse

4445 Lafayette St,


FL 32446