Under Florida Statute 768.81, when you drive a vehicle, you have a presumed duty of care to those around you. This means that you are expected to follow the rules of the road and behave reasonably to keep other road users safe. Nevertheless, if you are traveling just a few miles per hour over the speed limit, and are not endangering anyone a police officer is unlikely to stop you. However, if you are found to be traveling at an excessive speed, such as 30 mph or more over the speed limit, then you will likely receive a speeding ticket and be facing serious consequences in Hernando County.
The consequences for driving 30 mph or more over the speed limit are considered dangerous to other road users. Therefore, the punishments you will face are more severe than general speeding tickets. These can include a mandatory court appearance, fines, and points on your license.
If you have received a speeding ticket in Hernando County or elsewhere in the State of Florida, then you should seek advice from an experienced attorney. At The Law Place, we have helped countless people escape the worse penalties for excessive speeding. Our attorney-client relationship is based on trust and understanding. We will make you feel at ease and guide you through the process.
We keep our phone lines in operation 24/7 so that we can be there to offer crucial advice to you when you need it most. Call us now at (855)-831-7020.
The Circumstances of Your Traffic Stop
In Hernando County, depending on what police officer pulls you over, they may show you some leniency. For example, if your ticket is written as 29 mph over the limit, rather then 30 or more, you will escape some of the most serious consequences.
However, sometimes excessive speed is considered to be especially dangerous. For example, if you were speeding near to a school, a construction zone, or a residential area. If you were speeding in one of these areas, your fines could be doubled.
If you were found to be speeding 30 mph or more over the speed limit in Hernando County, you could be charged under Florida Statutes: 316.187, 316.189, and/or 316.183.
Fines Associated With Your Speeding Ticket
Following a ticket in The State of Florida for excessive speeding, you should seek the help of a knowledgable attorney who will help to minimize the consequences that you could face.
Fines for speeding tickets vary between counties, from $276 to $500. However, if you were driving more then 50 mph over the speed limit, the fine could exceed $1000.
Fines vary significantly, based on your driving record, the circumstances of your case, and the testimonial of the officer.
While the fines can be sufficiently scary for many people, some of the consequences of speeding to this degree are considered worse in Florida.
Other Issues Associated With Your Florida Speeding Ticket
Usually, a speeding ticket is not a big deal. You pay a small fine or attend traffic school, which is the end of it. However, if you have received a speeding ticket for traveling 30 miles per hour or more over the limit, there are more serious consequences.
Mandatory Court Appearance
If you receive a speeding ticket for traveling 30 mph or more over the speed limit, then you will receive a mandatory court appearance in Hernando County. This can be a frightening prospect for most people; fortunately, an attorney can attend on your behalf, which can be especially important for people who live out of state or want to avoid explaining to work why they need a day off.
Judges are accustomed to people trying to weave their way out of charges, and they have heard every excuse imaginable, probably hundreds of times. From rushing to the hospital because your partner was about to go into labor to running away from an attacker. Unless you have a genuine excuse and proof of it, it is best to leave them out of the courtroom. An attorney will be able to advise you on the best way to approach your case and can professionally talk to the judge on your behalf.
Points on Your Driving Record
The punishment that is most concerning for many people following a traffic ticket is the points that will be added to their driver’s license if they are found guilty. If you are charged with driving 30 mph or more over the limit, then you will receive four points, and if your speeding resulted in an accident, then this will increase to six points. Furthermore, you will not have the option of attending a traffic school to avoid points.
While this might not sound like much, points on your driving record quickly add up. If you receive 12 points in 12 months, 18 points in 18 months, or 24 in 36 months, then you will automatically lose your license for a set period of time. The loss of a driver’s license can be debilitating for most people. It could prevent you from working or taking your children to school. This massive disruption to the way you live your life, and the potential financial burden, is not worth the risk.
Even if you have a clean driving record and are not concerned about losing your license, points will result in your insurance rates going up. Furthermore, the judge may still decide to suspend your license regardless.
How Your Speed May Have Been Measured
For a comprehensive list of devices used to measure speed in Hernando County, head over to the Florida Administrative Code website. Only certain devices are approved to be used as evidence, and although there are many options, the most common devices are:
The most common method used by police officers to measure speed is a radar gun.
For a radar gun to measure the speed at which you are traveling, it uses radio waves that bounce off your vehicle. Those waves are then used to give the officer a speed reading.
For speed detection to be accurate, your vehicle needs to be in sight of the radar gun. However, they have been known to give a false reading, and they require a level of skill to be used. The officer giving the reading must be trained in how to use them. If they do not have a license or their training is out of date, then the reading can be challenged. The standards for use are clearly described in Florida Statute 316.1906.
A skilled attorney may challenge the reading from the radar gun, especially if the ticket was for speeding just barely over 30.
In Hernando County, many radar guns are being replaced by laser guns to measure how fast vehicles are traveling. They look similar, but they work very differently.
Laser guns shine a high powered laser onto a passing vehicle, it then measures how long it takes to bounce back to the gun, this is then calculated against the speed of light to produce a reading. This method is generally considered to be more accurate.
What an Attorney Can Do For You
If you have received a ticket for speeding 30 miles per hour or more over the speed limit, then it is recommended that you seek advice from an experienced attorney. They will attend court on your behalf and do all they can to lessen your charge, or ideally, have it dismissed. The outcome will depend heavily on the details of your case. However, having an attorney will automatically make you appear professional and show that you are taking the matter seriously.
Your attorney may be able to argue that the speed measurement on your ticket was inaccurate. This will depend on the officer who gave the reading and the device used.
A knowledgeable attorney will try to convince the judge to withhold adjudication under certain conditions. For example, if you commit no other traffic violations within a set period of time. Although you will still need to pay fines, you will escape extra points on your driving record, which could save your license.
Contact The Law Place Today
When you seek help from The Law Place, one of our experienced and professional attorneys will become your advocate. They will work hard to secure the best possible outcome for your case in Florida. Don’t allow a speeding ticket to result in you losing your license, fight to reduce the charges brought against you.
Call us at The Law Place today on (855)-831-7020.
Hernando County Courthouse
20 N Main St # 362,