When you get stopped by a police officer for exceeding the legally posted speed limit in Hendry County in the state of Florida, the consequences you can expect depend on exactly how much you were exceeding the limit.
If you are simply speeding by a few mph over the limit, nine times out of ten, you won’t even be pulled over. If you are speeding by 29 mph or less, you can expect to be pulled over, fined, and have points applied to your driver’s license. How much your fine will depend on which speeding bracket you fall into. However, once you exceed the posted limit by 30 mph or more, a new set of consequences apply. Instead of simply paying a ticket through the post, you will have to attend a mandatory court date, and a judge will decide your punishment. This will almost certainly include a fine and points on your driver’s license, but depending on your driving record, you could also face the loss of your license.
If you have been issued a speeding ticket by law enforcement for driving 30 mph or more over the speed limit in Florida, the best thing you can do is to seek representation by an attorney who has a wealth of experience and knowledge dealing with speeding laws. If this is the case, look no further than The Law Place.
We can offer you a free consultation over the telephone completely free of obligation and protected by the attorney-client relationship. We will explain your best options and give you a good idea of what the legal process and fees will look like for your specific case. If you would like more information or free legal advice, call us on (855)-831-7020 today!
The Circumstances Surrounding Your Hendry County Traffic Stop
In Florida, whether or not the law enforcement officer pulling you over will be willing to demonstrate leniency will depend on a number of factors. Sometimes, it may be possible for the police officer to be willing to issue you a citation for exceeding the legal limit by 29 miles per hour, instead of 30 plus. However, this situation really depends on your behavior and the officer in question. If you are exceeding 30 miles per hour over the limit by more than a couple of mph or were driving particularly recklessly, it is unlikely you will be considered for leniency.
There are other situations where exceeding the limit by 30 miles per hour, or more will be considered particularly dangerous in Florida. This applies particularly when you are speeding in a residential area, a construction zone, or a school zone. In these areas of Florida, the officer pulling you over and issuing your speeding ticket is extremely unlikely to be lenient. Additionally, fines associated with your speeding ticket may be doubled.
Fines for Florida Speeding Tickets
If you are in the position of receiving a speeding citation for allegedly traveling 30 miles per hour or more over the speed limit, you should seek out a speeding ticket attorney with a good level of knowledge and experience to represent you. A speeding attorney from The Law Place will do everything in their power to minimize the consequences of this citation, both in terms of immediate fines and long term damage to your driving record.
Speeding fines vary from county to county. You could be fined anywhere between $276 to $500 for exceeding the speed limit by 30 miles per hour or more. If your speeding ticket was received for speeding by 50 miles per hour or more, then you could receive a fine in excess of $1000 following your court date.
Additionally, there are other consequences to a speeding ticket of 30 miles per hour or more in Florida.
Other Consequences Possible From Your Florida Speeding Ticket
Speeding tickets for excessive speeds of thirty or more miles per hour mean that you cannot simply enroll in traffic school and move on with your life.
Instead, you will have to attend a court date. That is unless you have representation by an attorney who would be able to stand in court in your place. This is particularly helpful if you were only traveling through the state of Florida and do not live there, as traveling back to Florida for a court date could be a large undertaking.
The loss of the possibility of attending a traffic school also means you will not have the option of preventing points from being added to your driving record.
It is important to remember that the judge at your court case will likely have heard every excuse in the book. So we would recommend not saying that you had to rush to visit the hospital or playing dumb about the speed limit. Let your experienced speeding attorney handle the talking in your court case for the best results.
How Points on Your Driving License Work
Accumulating points on your driving license is likely the most problematic part of receiving a speeding ticket. If you are found to be guilty of going thirty or more over the limit, you will receive four points on your license. If your speeding caused an accident, the number of points will be increased to six.
You can see a full list of traffic violations and how many points they carry here: Florida’s Uniform Traffic Citation Manual.
The following is a list of the consequences you can expect for amounts of points accumulated in certain time frames:
- Twelve points accumulated in one year will result in the loss of your license for a month.
- Eighteen points in eighteen months will mean a three-month suspension.
- Twenty-four points in a period of three years will result in an entire year driving ban.
What Methods Can Be Used to Measure Your Vehicles Speed?
There are several different methods available to a police officer for determining the speed at which your vehicle is traveling.
These range from devices like radar and laser guns to more unusual methods like pacing, where the officer uses their own vehicle to determine your speed.
However, the device used to determine your speed may have a profound impact on the result of your case. If the officer is improperly trained or certified with a radar or laser gun the results may be inaccurate and, therefore, inadmissible in court.
For a full list of approved devices for detecting the speed of your vehicle, visit the Florida Administrative Code website.
Contact The Law Place Today
If you have been on the receiving end of a citation for traveling thirty or more miles per hour over the posted speed limit in Hendry County, the wisest course of action would be to contact an experienced speeding lawyer to defend you in court.
Your lawyer may be able to achieve several things for you. They may be able to have the consequences of your case minimized or even dismissed, depending on the specific details of your case. They may also be able to convince your judge to withhold adjudication, meaning that if you do not repeat your mistakes, you will receive fines but no points on your license. Furthermore, utilizing a speeding lawyer is a demonstration that you are taking the law seriously and will present you more professionally.
Get in touch with a member of our team today for a free telephone consultation completely protected by the attorney-client relationship. The consultation will be no-obligation, and our lines are open 24 hours a day, every day of the week. Don’t take a chance with your future. Call us on (855)-831-7020 for experienced legal counsel.