In Hardee Country, police offers are hyper-vigilant when it comes to speeding and reckless drivers, as they want to ensure that the roads are safe for all drivers. If they come across a driver who is traveling only a few miles above the posted speed limit, they usually won’t stop to issue them a ticket, as long as they are not posing any danger to other drivers. But if they find a driver excessively speeding over the limit, then a speeding ticket is a given, especially if they are driving over 30 miles per hour over the speed limit.
If you were stopped by a police officer for driving over 30 miles per hour over the speed limit, then you are not going to be able to drive away without a ticket, as the consequences are much more severe for being so high over the posted speed limit. This level of speeding suggests that you are a danger on the road and to your surroundings, and so you will be ordered to go to court.
If you or someone you know was caught driving over 30 miles per hour or more over the speed limit, then you are in need of a skilled and knowledgable attorney to fight your case. Our team of experienced attorneys knows exactly what to do to help your case, which includes doing what they can to get your charges reduced or dropped entirely. The phone lines at The Law Place are open 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Call us now for a free consultation on (855)-831-7020, and we will be at your side every step of the way.
The Circumstances of Your Traffic Stop
In Hardee County, your consequences will depend upon the circumstances of your stop. Sometimes a police officer might be willing to offer you a degree of leniency by writing you a ticket for traveling 29 mph over the limit instead of 30 mph. In this situation, the ramifications are less serious, but it doesn’t necessarily mean that you are off the hook.
It is hazardous to drive at 30 mph or more over the speed limit in places such as a construction zone, residential areas, and school zones. In these dangerous cases, the police officer will not be able to offer you leniency, and most likely, your fines will be doubled.
Fines Associated With Your Speeding Ticket
If you were caught speeding over 30 miles per hour and received a ticket in Hardee County, then you will likely be at a loss for what to do next. We advise that you reach out and speak to an experienced attorney at The Law Place, who can help to negotiate the charges and possibly reduce the consequences.
In Florida, the fines for a speeding ticket vary in different counties. It is possible that you could be fined from $276 to $500. However, in the situation that you were driving 50 miles per hour or more over the speed limit, then you could be fined $1,000 or more as a result. There are other consequences that are considered to be even worse than speeding 30 miles per hour or more over the speed limit.
Other Issues Associated With Your Florida Speeding Ticket
If you received a speeding ticket for traveling at high speeds in Hardee County, then you will not be able to get away with simply paying the fine, attending traffic school, and forgetting the entire incident. It will be mandatory for you to make a court appearance; however, you can hire a Hardee County attorney to appear in court on your behalf, which can especially beneficial if you live out of state or can’t get the time off work.
Court judges have plenty of experience when it comes to hearing all the stories out there, from rushing to the hospital to being unaware of the speed limit on the road. It is not worth trying to convince the judge by making up a story unless you have a valid excuse and have evidence to prove it. Nonetheless, it’s always best to let your attorney handle the case, as they know exactly what to say to the judge.
Points on Your Driving Record
In the state of Florida, high speeding is a serious offense, and there are many punishments in place for cases like this, which include points on your driving record. If you are found guilty of speeding 30 miles per hour or more over the limit, it will result in four points on your driving record. If your speeding ends up causing a serious accident in Hardee County, then you will receive six points.
You might not be that concerned about a few points, but if you receive 12 points in 12 months, it will result in the loss of your driving license. The disruption caused by losing your license might prevent you from working, taking your children to school, or even result in financial burden. It can create stress for you and for your family, which is not something that you or anyone would want for themselves.
Speeding points on your license can quickly accumulate if you are not careful behind the wheel. If you find yourself with 18 points within the timescale of 18 months, then you will lose your driver’s license for three months. If you gain 24 points within the time span of 36 months, then your driver’s license will be suspended for a year.
Other Consequences for Speeding in Hardee County
Once you’ve received a speeding ticket for traveling over 30 mph or more over the limit in Hardee County, there are other implications beyond attending court and adding points on your license. Some of them are:
- In Hardee County, you cannot avoid gaining points on your driving record by going to traffic school
- The kind of fine you receive for high speeding will depend on the history of your driving record, the circumstances of your case, and the testimonial of the police officer who stopped you
- The clerk of the court will file the first ticket, and it is required that you and the officer providing the speed reading sign it
How Your Speed May Have Been Measured
A police officer can determine how you are speeding, as listed on the Florida Administrative Code website. There are certain approved speeding devices that can be used as evidence. The most common speeding devices are:
Police officers commonly use radar guns. It measures how fast you were driving by generating radio waves that bounce off your moving car. Then the device determines the speed you were traveling in mph.
In order for the device to work, your car needs to be in the range of the radar gun. In certain circumstances, the device is known to be inaccurate, which is why it needs someone with a certain level of skill to use. Police officers have a special license to use radar speed detection; standards are outlined in Florida Statute 316.1906.
An experienced and knowledgable attorney could possibly argue that the angle of the speed reading was wrong, especially if you were traveling only a few miles per hour over and weren’t posing any danger to other road users.
In Hardee County, laser detectors are growing in popularity and usage, and they are replacing many radar guns in the area.
Laser detectors shoot a laser onto the moving vehicle; that is then calculated against the speed of light to produce a speed reading by measuring the amount of time it took for the laser to bounce back from the vehicle.
What an Attorney Can Do For You
A skilled attorney could reduce your charges, or possibly have the case dismissed entirely. However, the actions that an attorney takes will depend upon the details and circumstances of your case.
It is worth noting that if you received no other traffic court orders within a certain period of time, an attorney could possibly convince the judge to withhold adjudication. In this case, you will still be required to pay a fine, but you will avoid the speeding points on your driving license.
Contact The Law Place Today
If you were caught speeding over 30 mph over the limit and given a ticket from a police officer, then you will be in need of a committed attorney to fight for your case. At The Law Place, we have managed hundreds of cases like yours, so we know exactly what to do to help. An honest attorney-client relationship is important to us; we will explain the process and work hard to reduce the charges against you. We know the consequences that come with receiving a speeding ticket, but we don’t want it to result in you losing your license.
Call us now at (855)-831-7020 for a free consultation, and we will be at your side every step of the way.
Hardee County Courthouse
417 W Main St,