In The State of Florida, police officers won’t usually stop a driver who is traveling just a few miles above the posted speed limit, so long as they are not driving recklessly or endangering other road users. However, if a driver is driving excessively above the speed limit, then a speeding ticket is a likely outcome, especially if they are driving over 30 mph over the speed limit.
If you were caught driving over 30 MPH over the speed limit, then you are unlikely to receive any leeway from the police officer who stops you, as the consequences for being so high over the speed limit are more severe then a general spending ticket. You will automatically be presumed to be endangering others, and you will have to attend court as a result.
If you have been caught driving 30 mph or more over the speed limit, then you must enlist the help of a knowledgable attorney to support you. Here at The Law Place, our experienced attorneys have dealt with countless cases like yours, and we will do everything we can to have your charges reduced or dropped entirely. We keep our phone lines open 24/7 so that we can be there to support you when you need it most. Call us now at (855)-831-7020.
The Circumstances of Your Traffic Stop
Whether the officer is willing to show you leniency for speeding in Gulf County will depend upon the circumstances of your stop. For example, they may be willing to write the ticket for traveling 29 miles over the limit, which will result in less serious consequences.
However, there are some circumstances where traveling 30 mph or more over the limit is considered particularly dangerous such as in a construction zone, a residential area, or a school zone. Not only will the officer be unlikely to give you any leniency, but your fines could also be doubled. Your speeding ticket in Gulf County will be charged under Florida Statutes: 316.187, 316.189, and/or 316.183.
Fines Associated with Your Speeding Ticket
If you have received a ticket for speeding in The State of Florida for traveling over 30 miles per hour over the limit, then you should speak to an experienced attorney who will work to minimize the consequences that you could face.
The fine for such a speeding ticket varies from one county to another. However, you could be fined with $276 to $500. Furthermore, if you were driving 50 miles or more above the speed limit, then a fine of $1,000 or more could result. However, there are other consequences of a speeding ticket for traveling 30 miles per hour or more over the speed limit, which are considered worse than a fine.
Other Issues Associated With Your Florida Speeding Ticket
A speeding ticket for such a high speed in Gulf County will mean that you are unable to pay a fine, or attend traffic school, and forget that the incident ever occurred. For one, a court appearance will be mandatory. Fortunately, you can hire a Gulf County attorney to appear in court on your behalf. Not only does this save you the hassle of attending court (and having to explain to work why you need a day off), it may also improve the standing of your case.
Judges have heard it all, from rushing to get to the hospital, to being completely unaware of the speed limit. Unless you had a genuine reason, and you have proof of it, it probably isn’t a good idea to try and wiggle your way out of it with such excuses. It’s better to let your attorney handle talking to the judge.
Points on Your Driving Record
The punishment that you may be most concerned about is the points that could be added to your driving record if you are found guilty of speeding to such a degree. If found guilty of traveling 30 miles per hour or more over the limit, it will result in four points. If your speeding caused an accident, then this will be elevated to six points.
This might not sound like much, but 12 points in 12 months will mean the automatic loss of your license. The loss of your license might stop you from working or taking your children to school. The disruption to your life and financial burden is not something you want to risk.
Points on your license can quickly accumulate and cause further stress. If you gain 18 points within 18 months, you will lose your driver’s license for three months. If you obtain 24 points within 36 months, your license will be suspended for an entire year.
Other Consequences for Speeding in Gulf County
Beyond attending court and gaining points on your license, there are other issues associated with receiving a ticket for speeding over 30 mph over the limit in Gulf County, such as:
- In Gulf County, you will not be given the option of attending traffic school to avoid points on your driving record.
- The fine you receive can significantly vary, based on the history of your driving record, the facts surrounding your case, and the testimonial of the officer.
- The original ticket is filed with the clerk of the court and must be signed by you and the officer providing the speed reading.
How Your Speed May Have Been Measured
Florida Administrative Code website lists how an officer can determine whether you are speeding. Only certain devices are approved to be used as evidence. However, some of the most common devices are:
Most commonly, a police officer will find out if you are speeding by using a radar gun.
For a radar gun to measure how fast you are going, the machine creates radio waves that bounce off your car. The device then uses those waves to measure how fast you were traveling in mph.
For this to work, you need to be in the sight of the radar gun; however, they have been known to be inaccurate and need a level of skill to use. That is why the officer must have a special license to use them. The standards are strictly laid out in Florida Statute 316.1906.
A skilled attorney may be able to argue that the reading was wrong, especially if you were speeding just a few mph over.
Laser guns are becoming increasingly common in Gulf County and are replacing many radar guns to detect speeding. Although they look similar, the way they work is quite different.
Laser guns have a high powered laser that shines on the vehicle. The time the laser takes to bounce back is then calculated against the speed of light to produce a speed reading.
What an Attorney Can Do For You
An attorney can attend court on your behalf and will do all they can to lessen your charge or have it dismissed. How much they can do for you will depend heavily upon the details of your case.
An experienced attorney might be able to convince the judge to withhold adjudication; if you receive no other traffic citations within a specified period of time. You will still need to pay the fines, but you will escape points on your driving license.
On the other hand, your attorney may be able to have your ticket dismissed entirely. The defense used by your attorney could be tied to the type of speed measurement device used to measure your speed and how the officer used it. They may be able to argue that the reading on your ticket is inaccurate or that there is insufficient evidence.
Contact The Law Place Today
An experienced Florida attorney from The Law Place will act as your advocate. They will simplify the process and secure the best possible outcome. Don’t let a speeding ticket result in the suspension of your license, fight your case, and work to reduce the charges against you.
Call us at The Law Place today at (855)-831-7020.
Gulf County Courthouse
200 S 2nd St,