In the state of Florida, speeding is frowned upon as it puts the public at risk of accidents and injury. A speeding ticket can result in a fine and a misdemeanor on your driving record, depending on how far over the designated speed limit you were traveling. If you were driving slightly over the speed limit, then usually, this can be waived, and you will receive a warning, whereas if you were traveling significantly over the speed limit, then harsher penalties will be introduced. Traveling 30 miles or more over the speed limit can result in heavy fines, and a habitual offender could have their license suspended. Designated speeding zones are there to protect the public, and speeding in school zones carries a penalty no matter how far over the speed limit you were.
If you or a loved one are caught speeding and you are issued a speeding ticket, then it is highly recommended that you seek legal counsel. The Law Place has a team of experienced attorneys who are skilled in handling cases like this. Our phone lines are open 24/7, so there will always be someone available to answer your call. Call us today on (855)-831-7020 for a free consultation.
Can Your License Be Suspended for a Speeding Ticket?
Traveling 30 mph or more over the speed limit is dangerous, and as a result, usually carries harsher punishments. Traffic violations in Florida operate on a point-based system, and if a number of points are accumulated over a short period of time, then penalties will be enforced. A speeding ticket over 30 mph carries the weight of 4 points. If 12 points are obtained within a 12 month period, then this will result in your license being suspended for up to 30 days.
What Are My Options If I Am Caught Speeding in Gilchrist County?
Once you are caught traveling over the posted speed limit and you are issued with a speeding ticket, then the best option is to seek legal representation as soon as possible. You have 30 days to respond to a traffic violation, and you have routes you can choose to go down; below are the usual options:
- Pay the fine – You can pay the fine within 30 days and accept the points on your license. This will increase your insurance premiums and will be added as a misdemeanor to your driving record.
- Pay the ticket and attend a traffic course – If you are charged for exceeding the posted speed limit, then you have an option to attend a traffic school, which could reduce the points on your driving records.
- Contest the citation – You can fight the ticket in court in an attempt to have the charge dismissed. If you succeed, then the charge will be removed. You will need to attend court in the county the speeding ticket is issued.
If you were caught speeding over 30 mph over the speed limit, the first two options would not be possible for you. You cannot just pay the fine, go to traffic school, and move on. As a result of your actions, you will have to attend court. In order to contest the citation, you will need legal representation. The Law Place employs skilled attorneys who have fought many cases regarding speeding and other road traffic violations that have gone to court in Gilchrist County. Call us today for a free consultation.
Speeding Ticket Fines
If you are caught speeding and charged, then you will have to pay a fine, these can vary depending on how far over the limit you were speeding. Fines can be significantly higher if you are caught in school zones; below is an example of the fines you could be liable to pay:
- 1 – 5 mph over – This can usually be waived. If caught in a school zone, then this fine would be between $50 and $143, with up to 3 points on your license.
- 10 – 14 mph over – This carries a fine from $193 up to $226 and up to 3 points on your license.
- 20 – 29 mph over – This carries a fine from $268 up to $301 and up to 4 points on your license.
- 30 mph and over – This carries a fine starting at $ 343 up to $376 and up to 4 points on your license. You will also be required to attend court and will be unable to attend traffic school to avoid points.
If this is considered a first offense, then you may have the option to attend traffic school. This can help to reduce insurance premiums that may have increased as a result of a speeding ticket. You can only apply for a traffic school course once in a 12 month period and up to 5 times in your lifetime.
If you were found to be speeding 30 mph or more over the speed limit, this will not be an option for you, you could be charged under Florida Statutes: 316.187, 316.189, and/or 316.183. Your best bet at saving your license is to contact an experienced attorney to fight for you in court. Call The Law Place today for a free consultation and to see how we can help.
What Happens If You Have 3 Speeding Tickets?
In Gilchrist County, if you have more than one ticket, then you would be classed as a habitual offender. It is usually down to the number of points you have to determine the type of penalty you will receive. Due to the points-based system, if points are accumulated, there can be severe penalties. Each traffic violation carries a certain amount of points in the State of Florida, so penalties can vary. If you obtain 12 months in a 12 month period, then your license will be suspended for 30 days, and you will be liable to pay a fine. If a18 points are added within 18 months, then your license will be suspended for 3 months. If you continue to offend and a total of 24 points are added within a 36 month period, then your license can be suspended for up to 12 months.
Having your driving license suspended can be detrimental to your career and can have a negative impact on your personal life. It is highly recommended that as soon as you receive a speeding ticket, you seek legal counsel so that an experienced attorney can run you through the court proceedings.
Get in Touch With The Law Place Today!
When an attorney is put on a speeding ticket case, it is not uncommon for them to be able to find some flaw in the evidence. As a result, the ticket could be dismissed. They may also be able to arrange with the judge for them to withhold points on your license, so long as you are not caught speeding again for an agreed-upon period of time. You will still have to pay fines, but you will not be at risk of losing your license. At The Law Place the attorney-client relationship is at the heart of everything we do, we want to make your life easy. In fact, we can even attend court on your behalf, which can be especially helpful if you live out of state.
Here at the Law Place, our attorneys are very experienced in dealing with speeding tickets in Gilchrist County and can help you through the process. The Law Place offers a free consultation with skilled attorneys and will provide you with advice and information on court proceedings and how the outcome will affect you.
Your attorney will become your advocate. They will be familiar with the laws in the state of Florida so they will be able to determine if the correct method of speed detection was used and if the ticket was issued in the correct manner. Contact us today on (855)-831-7020.
Gilchrist County Courthouse
112 S Main St #1004,