Speeding is one of the most common traffic violations in the State of Florida, and the penalties and price of your speeding ticket depend on a variety of different factors.
If you have recently received a speeding ticket in Franklin County for driving 30 mph over the posted speed limit, there are some facts that you must be made aware of. This is not a standard speeding ticket. When you a caught driving 30 mph over the posted speed limit, you don’t have the option of simply attending traffic school, for one thing, and you can expect to receive a mandatory court summons.
Understanding the rights you have as a driver can be impossible, and the information can be overwhelming. That is why appointing a traffic attorney to appear by your side is the best decision you can make after receiving a speeding ticket. It is the only way you can ensure the best possible outcome for your case.
Our phone lines are manned 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Don’t hesitate – give us a call at (855)-831-7020 and speak to a ticket lawyer from The Law Place team and arrange a free consultation today.
Florida Statutes That Govern Your Speeding Tickets
There are several statutes that govern speeding tickets in the State of Florida. Florida Statue 316.183 states that a driver must not drive faster than a reasonable person would under the same circumstances. Therefore, even when a driver is not exceeding the posted speed limit, a speeding ticket may still be issued if it is deemed necessary. For example, if the road conditions are hazardous or the weather is particularly bad, you must use your common sense, and your speed must be adjusted accordingly.
A speeding ticket in the state of Florida for thirty miles or more over the posted speed limit can have consequences for your future, and it is in your best interest to fight your traffic ticket with the help of an experienced ticket lawyer who is equipped with the right information to help with your case.
Points on Your Drivers Licence
As well as having to make an appearance in the Franklin County Court and paying mandatory court costs, there are a number of other consequences associated with driving 30 mph or more over the posted speed limit. You may automatically think about a large fine that you may have to pay, but in fact, the most concerning consequence is the points that will be added to your driving record if you are convicted of the offense.
Points on your driving record can result in sudden increases in your car insurance premiums. Your insurance company may even choose not to cover you at all, and due to the fact that motor insurance is mandatory in the State of Florida—you would be unable to drive at all.
If you are convicted of driving thirty miles or more over the posted speed limit in Franklin County, you will receive four points on your driver’s license. This may seem like a minor penalty if this is your first speeding offense, but even four points can cause your insurance premium to increase. If this is your second or third offense, an accumulation of points can lead to more serious consequences such as the loss of your driver’s license.
In the state of Florida, drivers who accrue twelve points on their driving record could have their driver’s license revoked for a month. Drives who accrue as many as eighteen points within an eighteen-month time period could face driver’s license suspension for three months, and twenty-four points within a three-year time period could result in license suspension for one year.
What Other Penalties Could I Face
The penalties you may face following a speeding conviction will depend on a number of factors, but some examples include;
- A fine – Your exact fine will be calculated by looking at your prior driving history and the facts surrounding your individual case. If you were caught driving 55 mph over the posted speed limit, you could face fines of up to $1,000, and if you were found to be speeding in a school zone, your fines would be doubled.
- License suspension – As mentioned above, if you have a sufficient amount of points on your license, you will trigger a full license suspension.
Common Defenses in a Speeding Ticket Case
Your traffic ticket attorney will build a defense that is unique to your individual case and the facts surrounding it. But it is likely that your defense lawyer will seek a ‘motion to dismiss’ and will argue that there are sufficient grounds for your case, such as;
- Insufficient speed detection – Your speed will have been measured by a pace clock, radar, or laser (these are set out by the Florida Administrative Code). Your lawyer will look closely at how your speed was measured and look for an avenue for a defense based on this. For example, if the laser or radar that was used to measure your speed was not suitably calibrated or maintained, your traffic tickets could be dismissed.
- Insufficient evidence – If important evidence that was necessary for your defense was lost or denied to your attorney, your lawyer will be able to seek a motion to dismiss based on the fact that you would face an unfair trial. Furthermore, if there is simply not enough evidence to support the charge, your case may also be dismissed.
What an Attorney Can Do for You
If you have been issued a ticket for speeding 30 miles per hour or more over the speed limit in Franklin County, it is important that you seek advice from an experienced attorney right away.
The details of each case can vary, but an attorney will be able to attend court on your behalf and will fight to lessen your charge, or even have it dismissed altogether. Having an attorney by your side will help you to appear more professional and show the court that you are taking the matter seriously.
An attorney can also attend court on your behalf. For some people, this is a lifeline. You may be reluctant to tell work that you need a day off to go to court, or perhaps you live out of state and coming into Florida for a court date will be costly and time-consuming.
A skilled attorney can achieve an outcome in your case that you could not achieve if you faced the charges alone. For example, they could convince the judge to withhold adjudication under certain circumstances, such as having received no other traffic violations within a certain period of time. You will still need to pay fines and court costs, but you can avoid extra points on your driver’s license, something that is important for many drivers who can not afford increased insurance periods or face the loss of their license.
Or they may be able to have your case dismissed entirely. They will look for flaws in your case, such as how your speed was read or whether the proper procedures were followed. It is common for speeding tickets to be dismissed due to a lack of evidence or an officer failing to do everything they should.
Contact The Law Place Today
If you have received traffic tickets in Franklin County for driving more than thirty mph above the posted speed limit, it is in your best interest to speak to an attorney from The Law Place today.
If you have been issued with a speeding ticket in Florida but are from out-of-state, this mandatory court date will be logistically difficult for you. A Florida traffic ticket attorney can give you peace of mind by appearing on your behalf.
Here at The Law Place, we know how serious the consequences of a speeding ticket can be and how much they can impact upon yours and your family’s life. We want to do everything in our power to ensure that the best possible outcome is achieved in your case. Wherever possible, we will seek to have your speeding tickets dismissed or fight to reduce the number of points you face having added on your driving record.
Don’t hesitate, call us at The Law Place today at (855)-831-7020 for a free consultation.
Franklin County Courthouse
33 Market St,