When a Columbia County police officer stops a vehicle for speeding over the legal limit, the penalties that a driver can face will depend on how much they were exceeding the speed limit.
The chances are that if you are driving less than 10 mph over the limit, a Columbia County police officer will not pull you over. However, if you are pulled over for driving 29 mph or less over the speed limit, you can expect to receive points on your driving license. The fine you will receive will depend on the speed you were caught driving at. If you are pulled over for driving 30 mph or more above the speed limit, a whole new set of consequences apply. In these cases, drivers cannot simply pay their traffic tickets through the post, they will have to attend a compulsory town court date, and a judge will decide the punishments that the driver will receive.
If you or someone you know has been pulled over by Columbia County police officers for driving 30 mph over the limit, you must seek the legal representation of a reputable attorney. Our attorney, David Haenel has been helping people escape traffic tickets in Flordia for over 15 years.
We have law offices all over Florida. If you are facing charges for traffic violations, phone us today to schedule a free consultation with one of our lawyers at (855)-831-7020.
The Circumstances Surrounding Your Columbia County Traffic Stop
Several factors will impact whether a police officer is willing to demonstrate leniency when they pull you over for driving over the speed limit in Columbia County. Sometimes, they may issue you a speeding ticket for exceeding the limit by 29 miles per hour rather than thirty plus. However, this will entirely depend on the leniency of your Columbia County police officer and where you were pulled over.
Driving over the limit in some areas of Florida is more dangerous than others. For example, if you are caught driving over the legal limit in a school zone, residential area, or a construction zone in Columbia County, it is highly unlikely that your police officer will be lenient with you.
Tickets handed out for drivers who speed over the limit in Columbia County will be subject to Florida Statues 316.187, 316.189, and 316.183.
Fines for Speeding Tickets in Florida
The fines handed out for driving above the speed limit, and similar traffic violations in Florida vary from one county to the next. A driver who is caught going 10 mph over the limit can expect a fine in the region of $193 to $226.
However, drivers who have been handed tickets for driving thirty miles per hour over the limit can expect to be fined anywhere between $276 and $500. If a driver was exceeding the speed limit more than this, for example, if they were driving 50 mph over the speed limit, they can expect to receive a fine of $1000 following their Columbia County town court date taking place.
At The Law Place, we strongly recommend that you seek legal representation if you have been pulled over for exceeding the speed limit. The fines you could be handed for your traffic tickets can be severe, but it is the points on your driving license that you will have to fight. We have law offices all over Florida, so if you have received tickets in Columbia County, we can help you.
Points on Your Driving License
Receiving points on your driving license is the most troublesome part of receiving tickets for driving over the speed limit. Suppose you are caught driving over thirty miles per hour over the speed limit in Columbia County, you can expect to receive four points on your driving license. However, if at this speed you caused an accident, the number of points you receive will increase to six.
Accumulating points on your license can result in severe penalties and the suspension of your driving license in the State of Florida.
- Twelve points received over twelve months will lead to a driver losing their license for a month.
- Eighteen points in eighteen months can lead to a driver losing their license for three months.
- Twenty-four points received over three years can result in a driver facing a one-year driving ban.
Contact The Law Place Today!
If you have been caught traveling thirty miles per hour or move over the legal limit in Columbia County, you should contact a skilled defense lawyer at The Law Place to defend your case in court. A lawyer can even attend court on your behalf, which can be particularly helpful if you live out of state or are reluctant to miss work.
We have law offices all over Florida, so we will be able to help you in Columbia County. Phone us today to schedule a free consultation with one of our lawyers. They will examine your case and answer any questions that you may have before advising you of your best course of action. Don’t take a chance with your future. Call us today at (855)-831-7020.
Columbia County Courthouse
173 NE Hernando Ave # 408,