There is a traditional understanding between police and motorists that 5 miles per hour over the speed limit is acceptable in most circumstances. Even your driving instructor will tell you as much. However, that comes to a stop when drivers put their foot down a little bit too much.
Driving 30 mph over the speed limit is a violation in all Florida counties, Baker County included. It’s a charge that can carry heavy fines and land you with multiple points on your license.
If you’ve been charged with a speeding violation in Baker County, don’t hesitate to pick up the phone and call The Law Place today. We offer a free consultation with one of our lawyers so you can know all your legal options before your court date.
Don’t wait until your court date to start fighting your speeding ticket.
Call The Law Place now at (855)-831-7020 and speak to an experienced traffic attorney.
What Are the Fines for Speeding 30 MPH Over the Speed Limit in Baker County?
West of Jacksonville, Baker County is a rural place where tourists and Floridians alike flock to escape the big city. Understandably, the open roads lead many motorists to commit speeding violations.
The fines that can result from these violations can reach as high as $500 in the most severe cases.
Are There Other Consequences for Speeding 30 MPH Over the Limit in Baker County?
In addition to the fines imposed by your speeding ticket, driving 30 mph or more above the speed limit adds 4 points to your license. According to the State of Florida:
- 12 points in 12 months will result in a 30-day license suspension.
- 18 points in 18 months will result in 3 months of license suspension.
- 24 points in 36 months will result in a 1-year license suspension.
- 15 violations that give you points or 3 major offenses in 5 years results in license revocation.
Points will also increase your insurance premiums. It’s important to keep track of your traffic violations to make sure your insurance premiums don’t skyrocket.
A speeding violation for thirty miles per hour over the limit results in a mandatory court date. Without an attorney, you will have to show up in person and see a judge who will go over the details of your traffic stop and level a fine against you. This is another reason why hiring an attorney can be beneficial, they can take your place and represent you in court which means you do not need to appear yourself.
A judge will have a fair amount of leeway when it comes to deciding the final consequences for your ticket and severe enough speeding violations can result in a fine of up to $500.
If you have a court date for a speeding ticket, contact The Law Place today to discuss your options.
Can the Circumstances of My Traffic Stop Affect My Ticket?
Police officers aren’t likely to show you any leniency if you’re caught traveling that quickly over the limit. If your partner is in the back seat about to give birth, you may have an excuse. Otherwise, there is typically no reason to be driving that fast.
Traffic judges have also heard every excuse in the book. With a full court docket and many more cases to get through, they won’t usually have any patience for defendants trying to wiggle their way out of a ticket. If you are attending yourself, stick to the facts, and apologize; this will go over better than an excuse might. In any case, it is almost always smarter to hire an attorney instead, with their experience, they will know exactly what to do.
If you believe your traffic stop was made illegally, you have the right to request all the evidence against you. This includes radar or laser gun readings, the issuing officer’s observations, and any video from the incident. Any discrepancies or illegalities may mean your ticket can be thrown out.
Contact The Law Place to start the fight against your traffic ticket today.
How Can a Baker County Traffic Lawyer Help My Case?
A traffic attorney from The Law Place can attend court on your behalf, they can also use their experience and knowledge to provide the best possible defense or negotiate for leniency.
A lawyer can also fight the basis of the ticket. Any evidence against you will be investigated thoroughly. If there is a way to get your speeding ticket dismissed or the fines reduced, The Law Place will do everything we can to make it happen.
Can Traffic School Help?
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles allows for motorists to attend driver improvement school to avoid points on their license. You can attend traffic school one time per year for a total of 5 times throughout your life. However, if you receive a citation for traveling 30 mph or more over the speed limit, then this will not be an option.
Contact The Law Place Florida Speeding Ticket Lawyer Today
Have you been served a speeding ticket for driving 30 mph or more over the speed limit in Baker County? Are you afraid of what a traffic citation might do to your driving record?
Contact The Law Place today to start the fight against your speeding ticket. Our lawyer can represent you in court, addressing every possible way to get your ticket thrown out or your fines reduced. We offer a free consultation with one of our qualified attorneys to go over the details of your citation and what we can do to help.
Don’t let a speeding ticket rack up points on your driving record..
Call The Law Place today at (855)-831-7020.
Baker County Courthouse
339 E Macclenny Ave # 113