Collier County Speeding Ticket for Driving Thirty Miles or More Above the Speed Limit
If you live in Collier County, Florida, there are things you should know if you have received a speeding ticket for driving more than 30 miles over the posted speed limit. These tickets are not the same as a ticket for driving less than 30 miles per hour over the posted speed limit. If you find yourself constantly pushing the speed limit beyond the legally posted speed, you are not alone—more than five million traffic citations are issued in the Sunshine State each and every year, according to the Florida DMV.
Despite this, the state of Florida does not take speeding violations lightly, and you could risk hefty fines, points on your driving record, and even losing your driver’s license if you rack up too many points. Each county in Florida handles speeding tickets somewhat differently, meaning the fines may vary slightly according to where you are ticketed. There is also usually a surcharge attached to your speeding citation—a separate, court-related fee the county assesses.
As a general rule:
• For driving 6-9 miles above the posted speed limit, your fine could range from $129-$151;
• For 10-14 miles above the posted speed limit, your fine could range from $204-$226;
• For 15-19 miles above the posted speed limit, your fine could range from $254-$276;
• For 20-29 miles above the posted speed limit, your fine could range from $279-$301, and
• For 30 miles up to 49 miles above the posted speed limit, your fine could range from $376-$500.
Although you will have the option, if eligible, to take a driving course when you receive a speeding ticket, thereby avoiding the points which would have been placed on your driving record, speeding tickets for 30 miles or more over the speed limit do not offer this option. Further, you are required to appear in court, or have an attorney appear on your behalf, rather than simply mailing in a check.
Points on Your License
If you are convicted for driving thirty miles or more above the speed limit, you will receive four points on your driving record, unless you caused an accident, then you will receive six points. If you receive 12 points within 12 months, 18 points within 18 months or 24 points within 36 months, you may have your driver’s license suspended. If you are before the judge for driving 30 miles or more above the speed limit in Collier County, the judge has the right to suspend your license, even if you have not reached the required level of points.
Collier County Speeding Tickets Thirty Miles or More Per Hour Above the Speed Limit
In Collier County, there were 1,037 tickets issued in 2013 to those drivers going 30 miles or more over the speed limit, 951 issued in 2014, and 1,224 issued in 2015. Some things to remember are that if you receive your ticket in a school zone or a construction zone, your fines will be doubled. While a Collier County officer may give you a break for speeds less than thirty miles per hour above the posted speed limit, it is much less likely when you are driving thirty miles or more above the speed limit—but still possible.
If you are found guilty of the offense of driving thirty miles per hour or more above the speed limit, your auto insurance rates will likely increase significantly. In some instances, your insurance company may even refuse to continue to insure you. Other potential issues associated with a conviction of speeding 30 miles or more above the speed limit in Collier County include:
• If your Florida attorney can convince the judge to withhold adjudication in your case, then no points will be placed on your driving record.
• The actual fine you will pay will be dependent on your past driving record, the facts of your current traffic violation, and input from the officer who wrote you the ticket.
• Any speeding ticket which requires a mandatory appearance must have your signature and the ticketing officer’s signature on the original ticket which is filed with the court clerk.
• If you are caught driving 30 miles or more over the posted speed limit, you will be charged under speeding statutes 316.187, 316.189 and 316.183, which discuss unlawful speed, establishment of municipal and county speed zones and establishment of enhanced penalty zones.
How an Experienced Collier County Traffic Attorney Can Help
The specific defense used in your case will depend on the circumstances surrounding your ticket, as well as the type of speed measurement device used. There are valid challenges which can be used for pacing, laser, radar, VASCAR and aircraft speed detection, all of which are used in the state of Florida—although VASCAR and aircraft speed detection are not used often. Appearing before a Collier County judge with a knowledgeable traffic ticket attorney from The Law Place by your side will give you a fighting chance of a much better outcome.
Your attorney will be able to question the officer regarding the procedure used to ticket you, and can challenge statements made by the officer in court. Our attorneys specialize in minimizing the effects of Florida speeding tickets, and will work hard to negotiate the best possible arrangement for you, whether that is a continuance, a deferred adjudication, another type of alternate sentencing, or a dismissal of the ticket. Don’t face a Florida speeding ticket on your own—call The Law Place today.
Collier County Courthouse
3315 Tamiami Trail E #102
Naples, FL 34112