Broward County Speeding Ticket for Driving Thirty Miles or More Above the Speed Limit
Speeding offense tickets are the most commonly issued violations on the highways of Florida, particularly in Broward County. In the state of Florida, speeding violations are broken down into four categories. If you are driving fifteen miles or less over the posted speed limit, you can simply pay the ticket ($219) and earn three points for your driver’s license. You also have the option of going to traffic school if eligible, or hiring an attorney to fight the speeding ticket. If you receive a speeding ticket for going fifteen mph over the speed limit, but less than thirty over the speed limit, you will pay a higher fine ($294), and receive four points.
You still have the option of mailing in your fine, going to traffic school, if eligible, or fighting the ticket with the help of your attorney. If you are ticketed going thirty miles per hour or more above the speed limit—but less than fifty—you are not allowed to mail in your fine. Court appearance is mandatory, or, if you live out of state you can have an attorney appear on your behalf. You will pay a much higher fine, will receive four points on your driver’s license, and could even face a license suspension. Speeds over fifty miles per hour above the posted speed limit are extremely serious, carrying a minimum fine of $1,000.
Tickets Issued in Broward County for Speeds Thirty Miles Per Hour Over the Speed Limit
In Broward County, there were 3,938 tickets issued in 2013 for speeding thirty miles or above, 4,712 in 2014 and 4,151 in 2015. Although in some instances a Broward County police officer might be willing to reduce your speed on the ticket in order to minimize some of the consequences of your ticket, officers are less likely to do so for those speeding thirty miles or more above the posted speed limit. It is important to remember the following if you have received a ticket for driving thirty miles or more above the posted speed limit:
• If you have other traffic violations, you may have accumulated enough points to trigger a license suspension;
• There are fewer options available for dealing with a speeding ticket of thirty miles or more above the speed limit than for speeding tickets at lower speeds;
• Court appearance for a ticket for thirty miles or more above the speed limit is mandatory—you cannot simply drop a check in the mail;
• If you are caught driving 30 miles or more over the posted speed limit, you will be charged under speeding statutes 316.187, 316.189 and 316.183, which discuss unlawful speed, establishment of municipal and county speed zones and establishment of enhanced penalty zones.
• The fine for driving thirty miles or more over the speed limit can be as much as $500, and for speeds of fifty miles over the speed limit, the minimum fine is $1,000;
• Your fine is dependent on your driving history, the facts surrounding your current violation and what the officer who ticketed you has to say;
• If you were driving more than thirty miles per hour over the posted speed limit in a construction zone or school zone, your fines will be doubled;
• If you live out of state—or don’t want to face a Broward County judge on your own—you can hire a Florida traffic ticket attorney to appear on your behalf;
• Your signature and the ticketing officer’s signature must be on the original ticket filed with the court clerk;
• A Broward County judge could suspend your license due to excessive speed, but in any case, if convicted, you will receive four points on your driving record, and
• Your attorney may have specific challenges to your ticket, relevant to what method was used to determine your speed (pacing, laser or radar).
How Your Florida Traffic Ticket Attorney Can Help
If you have been ticketed for driving thirty miles or more above the posted speed limit in Broward County, having an experienced Florida traffic ticket attorney from The Law Place by your side can make a significant difference in the outcome of your case. Your attorney may be able to convince the judge to withhold adjudication in your case—if you receive no additional traffic citations within a specified period of time, your case will be dismissed with no points added to your record.
It is important to remember that in addition to the court-imposed penalties you will face if convicted of driving thirty miles or more above the posted speed limit, you will also face a significant increase in your auto insurance premiums—or your insurance company may refuse to insure you at all. Losing your driver’s license could also bring additional hardships, as you may be unable to get to and from work without driving, meaning your job could be in jeopardy. Whatever your circumstances, The Law Place can help. Call us today!
Broward County Courthouse
201 SE 6th St.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33301